CPC vs CPM Bidding: What’s the Difference in 2025?

CPC vs CPM Bidding: What’s the Difference in 2025?

CPM and CPC are pricing options that define how much money an advertiser will pay for an ad campaign on a website. Advertisers bid on ad networks according to these pricing options toon get the best placement for their ads.

As an advertiser, which one should you choose? As a publisher, which option pays better? Here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide to walk you through the nuts and bolts of CPM vs CPC bidding.

What Is Cost Per Click

Cost per Click definition: It refers to the amount you get paid every time a visitor clicks on an ad on your website. For advertisers is the cost they pay to the publisher per every click.

For example, if the advertiser’s campaign generates 1,000 clicks at a $3 CPC, you will get paid $3000.

Example for advertisers

Advertising budget: $100

Pricing model: $0.07 CPC

Number of clicks/budget:  ($100/$0.04) = 2500 clicks

Takeaway: You get the number of impressions necessary to reach 3000 clicks regardless of the CTR

What Is Cost Per Mille

Cost per Mille definition: It refers to the amount advertisers pay per a thousand impressions of their ad. For publishers is the price they charge advertisers per thousand impressions of their ad on their website. 

For example, if CPM is priced at $2 per thousand impressions and generates 10,000 impressions, the advertiser will pay $20.

Example for advertisers

Advertising budget: $100
Pricing model: $2 CPM
Number of clicks/budget:  ($100*1000/$2) = 50,000 impressions
Takeaway: You get the same number of impressions regardless of your CTR.

What’s the Difference Between CPC and CPM?

Since CPM refers to how many times the ad appears on the website, advertisers use this option to build brand visibility. By choosing websites related to their business, brands can drive awareness of their product or service.

The downside of CPM is that the advertiser pays for impressions regardless if they get clicks to their site or not.

CPC refers to how many times visitors click the specific ad. Brands choose this pricing option to drive conversions in the form of website visits or sales. When a visitor clicks on the ad, is taken to the advertiser’s site which pays the cost of that click.

The downside of CPC is that they are fewer impressions. However, the ads are targeted, and the advertiser pays when a user clicks on those ads.

How the Bidding System Works?

Advertisers bid at ad auctions managed by publishers and ad networks like Facebook or Google AdSense. Let’s clarify some basic terms of online advertising auctions:

Ad bid: The bid is how much an advertiser proposes to pay for an ad published in a network or website.

Ad budget: The budget refers to how much money a company or brand wants to pay for ads for that campaign. 

Why Do Ad Networks Use Auctions to Determine the Ads That Appear on Website Pages?

Networks use the auctions to select the best paying and more relevant ads for a website. In a typical ad auction, advertisers state the price they wish to pay for clicks on ads or impressions served in publishers or platform pages.

The auction ranks advertisers according to their bid and (in the case of Google Adsense, the quality score). Then, the platform assigns the ad unit to the highest bidder. Therefore, publishers get high-paying ads and brands get their ads placed on relevant sites.

Cost Per Click (CPC) Bidding

In this model, the advertiser only pays if someone clicks on one of their ads. Usually, brands use the CPC bidding model when working with search ads as it increases conversions. CPC bids are ranked according to Click-Through-Rate, Quality Score, and other factors.

You have two main options for ad bidding:

  • Automatic Bidding

In this option, you set a budget for how much you are willing to pay. The ad network then presents you with as many clicks they can offer for your budget. Some networks let you set a maximum cost per click so you can control your costs.

Automatic bidding can save you time and allow you to plan your budget. If you use this option, we recommend you set a maximum CPC. 

  • Manual Bidding

In this option, you can control your maximum bids. For example, you can set what is the maximum you want to pay, be it per group, keyword or placement.

This option gives you more control over how much you spend per click. The downside is that it can be time-consuming. 

Cost per Thousand (“Mille”) Impressions (CPM) Bidding

This bidding model is more common for advertisers looking for Display ads. As we mentioned before, Cost per Mille helps you increase your brand awareness.

The advantage is that display ad bidding focus on the price. Therefore, the highest bidder ranks at number one. The downside of this method is that you can pay for a thousand impressions, but those impressions result in zero clicks. 

When CPM Is Your Best Option

CPM is the best option when your goal is to make your brand known. It is the best choice to maximize your exposure and engage your audience for the awareness state.

When CPC Is Your Best Option

A CPC model is better to encourage conversions or acquisitions. This helps you maximize your ROI.

CPM CPC
You ensure your ad will get the impressions you’ve paid for Drives revenue based on an action
It increases visibility Gets higher intent interaction
Good for starting advertisers that need to create exposure to measure CTR It is transparent (you only pay when you get results – clicks)
Great for A/B test strategies Great for retargeting campaigns

CPC and CPM Pricing for Publishers

CPC and CPM Pricing

Image source

We explored CPC and CPM models for advertisers but how does it work for publishers?

CPC vs CPM for Programmatic Advertising

Choosing CPC or CPM model will depend on the goal of the advertiser for the specific campaign. However, for programmatic advertising CPM offers some advantages:

  • Reduced risk of ad fraud: Models like CPC and CPA can be subject to fraud like click-injection and click-spamming. Because CPM focus on the times the ad is viewed, it doesn’t offer so many incentives to fraudsters.
  • Cost-efficiency: CPM, especially dynamic CPM, allows marketers to automate their bidding budget so they can control the advertising budget.

CPM vs CPC Bidding by Platform

Every platform has a different model for ad bidding, let’s take a look at the most popular:

Facebook

Facebook

Facebook gives you two tiers for pricing options consisting of four internal options:

  • If you want to use the CPA (Cost per action) model, you should choose: “Ad result/ Website Conversions”.
  • CPL (Cost per Like) is only available if you choose: ”Ad results/ Page likes”.
  • Facebook offers CPC as a default option for bidding. This option is good for the beginning if you are a small business.

Google AdSense

Google

  • Google AdSense allows advertisers to bid according to the following types: CPC, CPM, Active View (cost per 1000 visible impressions),and CPE (Cost per engagement) 
  • Advertisers participate in an ad auction through which AdWords selects which ads will appear in what order and placement.
  • Besides CPC and CPM, advertisers can bid per Active View CPM. Meaning, the percentage of viewable impressions. What’s a viewable impression? When at least 50% of the ad is visible in the visitor’s browser window and the ad was viewed longer than a second.
  • Google AdSense also allows advertisers to bid according to the cost per engagement. The engagement action is defined by the advertisers. In this type of bidding the advertiser pays when the visitor interacts with the ad in a predefined way. Examples may include hovering over the ads for a certain length of time, taking a poll, starting a video ad, signing up for a newsletter.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn

  • LinkedIn is the platform most used by  B2B advertisers. But there are a number of LinkedIn bidding options, including Enhanced CPC and CPM.
  • Enhanced CPC is billed on a per-click basis, therefore it gives you more control over the performance of the ad.

eCPC Bid = Historical Conversion Rate * CPA Goal 

  • Implementing a CPM bid works better when the CTR is above LinkedIn’s average (>1%) resulting in more impressions and clicks.
  • On LinkedIn, you can opt for automatic or manual bidding. However, manual bidding is better on this platform because CPC on LinkedIn correlates with the CPC bid itself. In LinkedIn automatic bidding you get charged on an impression basis.

Instagram

Instagram

  • For Instagram, CPC ads are more consistent, since you know exactly how much you pay per click and can manage your budget around it. CPC is better in the Instagram context when you want to reach a specific number of clicks. The Instagram algorithm will then show your ads to the users more likely to click.
  • If you don’t have a large followers base, then CPM can help you perform better. If you know our audience, you can test your ad visibility by running a specific number of impressions. CPM works great to A/B test Instagram ads.

FAQ’s About CPC and CPM

1. Which is better? CPC or CPM?

If you are an advertiser, the pricing model you choose will depend on your campaign goals. If your campaign goal is to ramp up conversions and generate actions, then the CPC model is more effective. If you want to increase your brand awareness, then the CPM model works best.

2. How do publishers get paid on an ad exchange?

Ad exchange publishers are paid based on a metric called “effective Cost per Mille” (effective cost per thousand impressions). This rate measures the ad revenue of a campaign per the number of impressions.

3. How do you calculate eCPM?

eCPM =Total ad revenue
           (Impressions/1000) 

4. What is CPA?

This model involves paying every time a user takes an action, for example, a purchase, on a website after clicking the ad.

CPA = Advertising cost
            Number of actions

5. What is CPCustomer?

Some platforms allow companies to calculate the cost of acquiring a customer. While CPA tracks how much it costs you to get a customer to do the first action if the action is not a purchase you need to add another variable.

Cost per Customer = CPA x (Number of Leads that Buy
                                                     Total number of leads)

How CodeFuel helps Reduce your Costs

CodeFuel is a complete monetization solution that leverages search, ads, and news monetization options. CodeFuel allows advertisers and publishers to manage the costs by balancing different monetization channels, such as contextual advertising, display and search ads.

CodeFuel helps you get the most for your bid and reduce advertising costs. For publishers, the holistic monetization solution allows them to maximize their ad revenue while enhancing the user experience.

Learn how you can manage your advertising costs the smart way today. Contact us.

47 Essential Video Marketing Statistics for 2025

47 Essential Video Marketing Statistics for 2025

Video marketing is here to stay. Companies that want to engage, entertain and capture the attention of users should think of adding video content and ads to their marketing statistics. If an image is worth 1000 words, a video is worth much more. To be sure you get the most accurate information before you start your video campaign, here at CodeFuel we’ve collected a list with the most important video marketing statistics you should know for 2025​, and some tips to create a great video campaign.

Is Video Marketing More Effective? 

Video marketing gives marketers an attractive and shareable medium to reach their audience. A study recently showed that online video is 6 times more effective than other marketing tools.

Here are some statistics about how effective is adding videos to your marketing strategy:

What is the ROI of video marketing? 

Video marketing requires production, planning, and investment. Because of that, it is important for marketers to know their video strategy is going to be successful.

Video can produce a better ROI, than traditional marketing methods. Let’s check what marketers think about it.

  • 86% of marketers say video increased traffic to their website.
  • 83% of marketers say video increased their visitor’s time-on-page.
  • 84% of marketers admit videos helped generate leads.
  • 78% of marketers say adding video to their pages increased sales.

In order for the video strategy to be effective, you should be able to measure success. How are your videos performing against your goals? To help with that there are certain metrics that can help.

Metrics You Should Know

Every marketing campaign will have different metrics according to the campaign goals. But, when measuring the performance of your video campaign there are some common metrics to take into account.

Video Engagement Metrics

Engagement is the measure of how your video content impacts the user. How much do your viewers interact with your brand?

  • Likes: the “likes” in social media and positive reactions to your video content.
  • Dislikes: this is an option on YouTube, Facebook, and other platforms. People can express their disagreement with the subject or the content.  
  • Comments: comments give you an idea of how impactful is the content for the users. You can check sentiments toward the videos, feedback on the content. They also create a conversation with the viewers.

Conversion Metrics

If your goal for your video campaign is conversions, you should always include a CTA in the video. While it could be at the end of the video, some companies will repeat variations of the CTA through the duration of the piece, in case the viewers don’t watch it completely.

  • Click-through-rate: CTR is relevant for video campaigns focused on conversions. You’ll like to know how many people clicked on your video CTA or follow through with the desired action.
  • Conversions: You should track not only the number of people that click on your video CTA but the ones that actually purchase or convert on your website. This will give you a more accurate idea of whether your campaign was successful until the end.

Awareness and Reach 

Well, conversions and engagement won’t happen without people being aware of your brand. Here are the metrics that you should track to know where you stand on brand awareness:

  • Views: How many times your video gets watched. What is considered a view? It depends on the platform. On YouTube is 30 seconds, on Facebook and Instagram is 3 seconds.
  • Play rate and replays: Play rate measures how many times a user clicks the play button on your videos. Replays measure how many times the user played your video again.
  • Shares: Shares can be the ultimate uplift. That means a viewer liked your video so much that they want to share it. This impacts your campaign since the more people see your videos, the larger audience you can reach.
  • Impressions: Impressions mustn’t be confused with views. An impression is when your video is displayed, whether someone clicks on it or not. You can have a ton of impressions but very few views.

47 Video Marketing Stats

You cannot ignore video content as part of your marketing strategy. Here are some statistics that show this:

Online Video Usage and Consumption

1. Online video usage is increasing

Online Video Usage

2. People are watching online videos more than ever, on any device. According to a report by Statista, the number of people watching online videos worldwide will reach close to 3 billion in 2021.

3. In the U.S the number of users watching online videos is over 80%. At least 85% of American Internet users watched an online video last month.

4. Almost 300 million U.S residents watch videos regularly.

The global weekly time watching online videos also increased.

5. According to a video viewer survey, in August 2020, almost 30% of online viewers watches more than 10 hours of online video weekly, and 20% watched one or two hours of online video weekly.

Online Video Watching Stats

Image source

6. In the U.S, 78% of people watch online videos each week, and 55% of those watch on a daily basis.

Consumers demand more online video content

7. According to a study by HubSpot, 54% of consumers want to see more online video content. Consumers not only want to watch entertainment videos. According to that study, customers would like to see more video content from brands they support or follow.

This demand is one of the reasons influencer video creators are on the rise. Video content catches the users’ attention. Therefore, brands looking to expand their brand exposure should add video content to their strategy.

8. Consumers especially like videos on social media platforms

Videos on Social Media

Top Video Platforms

YouTube

YouTube Video Statistics

YouTube has grown in an unstoppable way since its launch in 2005. The platform is the go-to place for longer video content, specifically tutorials (on almost everything) and educational videos.

Here are some statistics that show why should you consider YouTube marketing:

YouTube usage

9. 48% of business YouTube users think the platform enhances PR communications.

10. 82% of viewers use YouTube for entertainment.

11. 18% of people follow brands and companies on YouTube.

12. 37% of 30-49 years old use YouTube as a news source.

13. 72% of YouTube viewers used YouTube to exercise in 2020.

14. The average YouTube visitor checks 8.8 pages per day.

15. 40%  of viewers watch YouTube on their mobiles.

YouTube marketing

16. YouTube’s ad revenue as of 2021, reached over $6 billion.

17. YouTube’s ad business is close to Netflix in revenue. YouTube’s parent company revealed the data for the first quarter of 2021, and it is expected to reach over $20 billion in ad revenue this year.

YouTube Ad Revenue

Image source

18. 70% of YouTube viewers, purchased from a brand that they saw on YouTube.

19. YouTube intent-targeted ads perform 100% better than those targeted by demographics.

TikTok

TikTok Video Statistics

The TikTok (or Douyin as it is called in China)  app is one of the most popular applications for creating video content in 2021. Users can create short musical videos based on lip-syncing, dancing, workouts, or comedy. Thus, in 2021, TikTok is an app that is tough to beat.

20. There are about 689 million active TikTok users every month, according to the platform.

21. The platform has 600 million active users in China.

22. TikTok 2020 revenue was estimated at $1 billion.

23. 18% of global Internet users use TikTok.

24. In the U.S, there are 100 million TikTok users.

TikTok Statistics

Image source

25. In Europe, the U.K is the country with the most TikTok users, and Norway is the one with the fewer.

26. U.S users spend an average of 14 hours a month in TikTok.

27. 48% of TikTok users will share a funny video.

Video Conversion Statistics

The ultimate goal for a video marketing campaign is to convert. Videos can generate effective results for campaigns. Here are some statistics that show how video influences positively your conversions:

28. The average conversion rate for websites with video is 4.8% instead of 2.9% for sites without.

29. Branded video content increased over 200% on Facebook and 100% on YouTube.

30. Facebook, partnering with Nielson,  found out that video ads increase conversions by 20-30%. 

How Effective Is a Video for Brand Awareness

Videos can create and increase the awareness of your brand. Video marketing can give your viewers information that a regular ad cannot. It shows your audience that your brand is aligned with their values.

31. 86% of businesses use video as part of their marketing strategy.

32. 76% of marketing professionals use video to increase their brand awareness.

33. 80% of people say they use online search and video search when researching something to buy.

Does Video Affect the Sales Funnel?

To be truly effective, your videos need to align with your sales funnel. Regardless of your campaign goals, creating them to cater to the right stage of the sales funnel will increase your chances of converting. For instance, if your goal is to raise brand awareness, your video content should show your brand values.

If your campaign goal is to convert, the ad should align with the buyer’s needs at the consideration stage, ending with a CTA. Check this example by Uber:

Posting Video on Social Media

Social media is key when we talk about video marketing. Videos perform better in social media channels and people actually like more video ads and content on those platforms. Here’s a quick view of how videos perform on each of the big social platforms:

Facebook Video Statistics

34. Facebook video posts have a 0.26% engagement rate.  That’s higher than the overall engagement rate for text posts (0.18%).

35. 1.25 billion people visit Facebook Watch every month. To be able to publish on Facebook Watch, you need to have more than 5,000 followers.

36. 70% of marketers will include Facebook in their video marketing strategy.

Instagram Video Statistics

37. The most popular Instagram video content is how-to tutorials. Following are interviews and behind-the-scenes posts. So, plan to add short instructional videos that can relate to your business.

38. Instagram TV videos are larger than the pictures on the Explore page. Use IGTV videos to draw your audience’s attention.

39. Reels get more engagement than video posts. Take, for example, the NFL team The Patriots. They get an average of over 121,000 engagements per reel, vs 21,000 engagements per video.

Twitter Video Statistics

40. Video arrived on Twitter for staying. Video views on Twitter reached 62% in 2020.

41. Video is the most shared media type. Tweets with videos get retweeted 6 times more than photo Tweets.

42. Twitter videos usually get created or shared on mobile. 93% of Twitter video views happen on mobile.

43. Twitter videos start conversations. Twitter has a new ad format called Conversational Ads. The video ads may include CTA buttons and customizable hashtags.

Linkedin Video Statistics

44. LinkedIn launched video ads to help grow their customer’s businesses.

45. Users at LinkedIn are 20 times more likely to re-share a video post compared to a text post.

46. LinkedIn ads can increase purchase intent by 33%.

47. LinkedIn Live streams generate 7 times more reactions than a regular video.

3 Tips for a Perfect Social Media Video Strategy

1. Videos perform better when they are short. 

If you want to succeed with your social media videos, short and sweet is the way to go. That is even more important for B2B. Videos shorter than one minute, get viewed completely 68% of the time, unlike videos 10 minutes and longer, which has a 25% completion rate.

Why is this important? Consumers want fast-paced content. So, you can create short videos using trending platforms like Instagram Reels and TikTok to promote them. A short video gives you also the possibility to re-share them as Stories, adding special effects, filters, stickers, etc, to attract more the attention of your viewers.

2. Use YouTube for educational videos

YouTube is the default channel for video tutorials and How-To educational videos. Since tutorials are a must on your video content strategy, take advantage to show and instruct your users about how your solution work. Explainer videos work wonderfully for that.

3. Dare to live stream 

Audiences engage 3 times more with live videos than other types of videos. It can be because the experience feels more genuine and direct with the content creators. Live streams show the human side of your brand, helping customers relate more with your values and goals. So, if you want to reach directly to your users, run a live session on social media.

4 Top Video Marketing trends of 2025

1. Video marketing will be a standard part of marketing strategies

According to research, 99% of marketers plan to use video in their strategies in 2021. The most popular forms of video content are explainer videos, testimonials, and video ads.

2. Everybody goes live these days

The average U.S consumer has more than 9 video streaming apps on their smartphones. Global streaming marketing is growing steadily over the last few years, reaching over $160 billion in revenue in 2020, from $104 billion in 2019. According to analysts, the sector will continue to grow in 2025.

3. Shorter is better

If you want to catch your user’s attention,  keep your videos short and entertaining. That’s behind the success of short-form streaming solutions like Reels and TikTok. According to Design Shack,  this trend will continue, including monetization opportunities — already present in Instagram and in development in Tiktok—.

4. The top star: User-Generated video content

According to Econsultancy, users that find user-generated video content in an e-commerce platform are almost 2 times more likely to purchase. The reason is simple. Users want to know the personal experiences of people that already bought the product. This is very popular in fashion and homeware sites for exactly this reason. It provides a “live review” that is authentic and relates to the buyer.

Wrap Up 

Wow, that’s a handful!. When thinking about ramping up your video marketing strategy, getting the proper stats is key for a successful campaign.

Here are some of our recommendations for a great video campaign:  Start with a plan, choose carefully the channels you will use for your video campaign. Even better, choose a complete ad network solution that can maximize the impact of your video ads. When launching the campaign, track the metrics, measure performance, rinse and repeat. 

Crafting the perfect video campaign is not easy. Hopefully, with this post, we provided the key stats to get you started.

Resources:

Wyzowl

Wordstream

Hootsuite1

Hootsuite2

Bloomberg

Aberdeen Research

Tubular Insights

Google

Inc

Twitter

LinkedIn

Social Media Demographics Study – Who Are The Social Media Users in 2025?

Social Media Demographics Study – Who Are The Social Media Users in 2025?

Who isn’t on social media these days? Thanks to mobile technology, every phone comes with social media channels to connect with others, engage and share content and entertain.

Companies around the world are tapping into the benefits of engaging social media channels in their strategies. But which channel is the best for your company? Finding this out will depend on your audience. Therefore, understanding who are social media users is critical for success.

Here we prepared a guide with the top statistics and figures you need to understand your social media users in 2025​. This updated guide on demographics will give you the figures you need to define an informed strategy, such as usage, age, gender, country, and behavior.

Follow our 2025 Guide to Social Media Demographics and discover who is the audience on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Linkedin, Pinterest, YouTube, Snapchat, and Tiktok. Bookmark this page to have it handy.

So, How Many People Use Social Media?

Let’s start from the basics: how many social media users are in the world? Is social media really everywhere?

According to studies, more than half the world’s population — 4.33 billion people — use social media. 

That suggests that 9 in 10 Internet users use social media each month.

Social Media Use Around the World

As of April 2021, there were 521 million new social media users from last year, indicating an annual growth of 13.7%.

Mobile access is a great part of social media growth, as 99% of social media users access via their mobile phones.

How often people use social media?

The average user spends 2hrs 22 minutes a day on social media. This varies according to the platform though, as people spend more time on some social platforms than others.

Which platforms are the most popular?

Facebook is by large the most common social media platform, followed by YouTube and Instagram.

Most Used Social Media Platforms

Source

Social Media Users By Country

Usage of Social Media varies by country too. According to Statista, China is the country with the most users, with over a billion users expected by 2025, followed by India with half a billion.

The United States is in 4th place, Japan in 10th. Surprisingly, the United Kingdom is in 14th place with 50.89 million users expected by 2025, followed by South Korea with 45.53 million users.

United States

Social media adoption in the U.S has grown from only 5% in 2006 to 72% in 2020.

Social Media United States

Age group: The same research shows that most users are in the range of 18-29 years old. 

Age Demographics Social Media United States

UK

According to statistics, in January 2020 there were 45 million social media users in the UK, this number had increased to 53 million by the start of 2021. That means 77.9% of the UK population uses at least one social media platform.

Social Media UK

Source

Time spent on social channels:  The British spend 1h 49 minutes every day on social media.

Age of social media users: Most social media users are in the range of 18-34 years old.

Age Demographics Social Media UK

The most used social media platforms in the UK are YouTube and Facebook. Interestingly, this is one of the few countries where Facebook is in second place as the most used social media platform.

South Korea

According to Statista, the number of social media users in South Korea will reach 45.5 million by 2025, from 41.4 million in 2017.

Social Media South Korea

Age group:  the highest social media penetration — 86.9%— was among the 20-29 years old as of 2019.

The largest group of Instagram users in South Korea, as of March 2021 are women between 25 and 34 years old.

The most used social network in South Korea is Facebook.

Australia

According to Statista studies, in January 2021, almost 80% of Australians were active social media users, compared to 58% in 2015.

Age group: The use of social media is dominated by the 25-34-year-old group. Younger Australians, from 14 to 28 years old, prefer to use Instagram.

Most popular network: Facebook still leads as the most widely used social networking service, followed by YouTube and Instagram.

South Africa

Statistics show that social media users in South Africa will reach over 26 million by 2025, from 22.89 million in 2019.

Social Media South Africa

Social media users increased by 3 million between 2020 and 2021. As of January 2021, 41.9% of South Africans used social media.

Age group: According to a Digital Report by Data Report, the largest group of users of social media are in the range of 25 to 34 years old.

Age Demographics Social Media South Africa

Time spent on social media:  South Africans spend an average of 3 and a half hours on social media every day.

Time Spent on Social Media South Africa

Most popular Network:  Interestingly, the most popular network in South Africa is WhatsApp, followed by YouTube in second place and then Facebook.

Most Used Social Media South Africa

Now that we explored the basics of key markets, let’s analyze the demographics of the social platforms, who are the users?

Understanding the audience is critical to define a successful social media strategy for your business. 

Facebook

Source

2021 Facebook Demographics

Facebook is still the undisputed leader of social networks, although now YouTube and Instagram are getting close. Their reach and broad audience make it a clear choice for most companies looking to market and advertise their products.

Active users/month

  • 2.7 billion people use Facebook every month.

Age Facebook users

Age Demographics Facebook Users

Income

  • Facebook is used by over 80% of households regardless of the income break.

Gender

The gender division is not that marked among Facebook users, as there are 8% more users that identify as male than female.

Facebook Users By Gender

Device usage

  • 98% of Facebook users access through mobile. 
  • While over 80% access only through a mobile phone. 17% access both through mobile and computer.

The takeaway

  • Despite new competitors, the world crisis, and all that happened in 2020, Facebook is still the most used social platform.
  • Although most users are millennials, boomers form half of the audience, which results in an attractive opportunity to run ads.
  • The massive reach of Facebook means that it is only logical to advertise there even if you only share your posts from other platforms.

Instagram

Image source

2021 Instagram Demographics

Instagram is the network for sharing photos and video, turning steadily into a marketplace of its own.

Active users/month

  • 1 billion people use Instagram every month.

Age of Instagram users

  • The largest age group is of 25-34-year-olds (33.1%)

Age Intagram Users

Time

  • Instagram users spend on average 53 minutes per day on the platform.

Income

  • In the U.S, 60% of users that earn more than $100k/year are on Instagram, while only 44% of the lower-income range (less than $30k/year).

Gender

According to Statista, there is almost the same % of male than female Instagram users.

Distribution of Instagram users worldwide as of January 2021, by gender

Percentage of users
Male 49.2%
Female 50.8%

Device usage

  • 11.96% of the world’s active mobile Internet users access Instagram daily.
  • Since Instagram doesn’t have a desktop app, until a few years ago, there won’t be a possibility of using the social network from PC. Nowadays, marketers and businesses adapt their browsers to be able to use Instagram from desktops.

The Takeaway 

  • Instagram is steadily growing in the last few years and now is the second most-used network after Facebook.
  • The launch of Instagram Reels positions Instagram as a competitor with TikTok.
  • In fact, Instagram is competing fiercely for the younger user’s attention with TikTok and Snapchat.

LinkedIn

2021 LinkedIn Demographics

The social media network for professionals and B2B works by different rules as other social networks. Its focus on providing value, networking, and lead generation make it a no-brainer when it comes to promoting your business.

Active users per month

  • There are 756 million members of Linkedin of which 260 are monthly active users.

LinkedIn Active Users

Age distribution

The age group with the largest LinkedIn active users is 25-34 years. However, the target demographics focus on professionals 30-49 years old.

  • 60% of people 25-34 are on LinkedIn.
  • Only 3% age 55%+ use the platform
  • 17% of Internet users use LinkedIn

Time

According to Similar Web, users spend an average of 7.30 minutes every day on LinkedIn, at which time they visit about 6 pages.

Income 

  • Linkedin members are on the higher income side, with 60% of households with an annual income of over $100k/year using LinkedIn.
  • Also, 40% and 49% of medium-income households (from $60k/year to $80k/year) use LinkedIn.
  • On the contrary, only 2% of the lower-income range (under $30k/year) use the network.

This can be explained as LinkedIn is a network for B2B and professionals, which tend to be in the medium/high-income range.

Gender

LinkedIn Gender Distribution

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Device usage 

  • Contrarily with the other social networks, LinkedIn is used primarily on desktop. It makes sense since people use LinkedIn for professional/business purposes. According to SimilarWeb, 32% of LinkedIn traffic from desktops comes from the U.S.
  • However, the LinkedIn app has been downloaded 500,000,000+ times from the Google Play Store, according to Google Play. That represents a 400% increase from 2018, where it was a mere 100 million downloads.
  • 57% of the impressions on LinkedIn come from mobile.

The takeaway

  • While it could seem that LinkedIn is for older professionals, millennials make up a quarter of the platform.
  • Marketing and advertising efforts on LinkedIn can be productive since it has a high-educated and higher-earning demographic. Since its audience is primarily B2B, requires very specific marketing activities and is a top market for lead generation.

Twitter

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2021 Twitter Demographics

One of the strengths of Twitter, besides allowing everybody to express their opinion, is that you can tag almost any business or person simply by tagging them in a Tweet. This helps companies with their social listening and brand analysis.

Active users per month

  • There are 330 million monthly active users on Twitter.

Age distribution

  • More than half of Twitter users ( 63%) are between 35 and 65 years old. This percentage refers to global users.
  • In the U.S., most Twitter users (42%) are younger, between 18-29 years old.

Time

Business

  • 75% of B2B businesses market their products/services on Twitter.

Income

  • 42%  of users hold a degree, which suggests a higher-earning audience, good for advertising.

Gender

  • Globally, there are twice more men (66%) on Twitter than women (34%). In the U.S,  this rate is 61.6% male and 38.4% female Twitter users.

Twitter Gender Distribution

Device usage 

  • Twitter is mostly a mobile social media platform, and 80% of users access Twitter from their mobile device.
  • According to Google, the app was downloaded over a billion times.

The takeaway

  • One of the keys to Twitter’s success is that is easy to use and generates short-term interactions.
  • Since it is dynamic, it is a good place to share updates, attract the interest of the users and generate discussions.
  • Most (80%) of tweets are generated from the 10% of most active Twitter accounts. That means Twitter is a place of influencers.

Youtube

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2021 YouTube Demographics

Youtube video range goes from recipes and tutorials to funny cat videos, entertainment, and music. If it can be on video, is on YouTube.

Active users per month

  • There are 2 billion active users on YouTube

Age distribution

  • Most users (85%) are in the 15-25 years old age group.
  • Interestingly, more than half of users over 56 years old also use YouTube (58%).
  • ¾ of people 26-55 also use YouTube.

Youtube Age Distribution

Time

  • People spend on average 41.9 minutes on YouTube every day. This amounts to almost 5 hours per week.
  • Combined, people watch over a billion hours of YouTube videos.

Income 

  • YouTube usage is spread across all income ranges, with a slightly higher penetration (89%) in the highest income range —$100k/year—.

Gender

  • 72% of female Internet users are on YouTube and also 72% of men.

Youtube Gender Distribution

Device usage 

  • More than 40% of YouTube watch time comes from mobile devices, and 34% on the TV. This represents a shift to connected TVs since by 2019, 49% of YouTube viewing was mobile and 27% on TV.

Youtube Device Usage

Source: emarketer.com

The takeaway

  • YouTube has proved to be popular in a wide age range with a peak of popularity among 15 to 35-year-olds.
  • More than half of YouTube’s users use the platform every day, making YouTube the most used video network for the Internet.
  • All this suggests YouTube offers great advertising opportunities as it is still growing.

Tiktok

2021 TikTok Demographics

TikTok is becoming the next video-sharing platform, catering to people between the age of 13 and 40.

Active users per month

  • TikTok has 1 billion monthly active users. That’s an increase of 1.1 billion from 2018.
  • The platform has 100 million active users in the U.S.

Age distribution

  • Most TikTok users are in the age range of 10-19 years old (32.5%). While this shows a focus on the youngest users, the percentage of users aged 20-29 is increasing, reaching 29.5%. This suggests that TikTok’s audience composition is becoming older.

Time

  • The users spend an average of 52 minutes per day on the platform. Younger users spend up to 80 minutes per day on the app.

Income 

  • 40% of  TikTok users belong to the highest income range, making more than $100k/year.

Tiktok Users Income in US

Gender

  • 60% of TikTok U.S. users are female and 40%  are male.

Device usage 

  • In April 2021, TikTok had 39.2 million mobile unique visitors,  which means an increase of 300% from the 12.6 million or April 2020.

The takeaway

  • It is without a doubt that since its launch, TikTok has had unprecedented growth. Currently available in 150 countries, the platform is quickly becoming the app for sharing video content. 
  •  The platform announced that soon it will allow monetization, with shoppable videos, for their creators.

Pinterest

Source

2021 Pinterest Demographics

The social network for makers, Pinterest has long evolved from a platform to look for recipes and DIY tutorials to a more B2C marketplace. Its users also reflect this trend.

Pinterest trends

Source

Active users per month

Age distribution

  • The largest group of users are between 50-64 years old, followed by the 30-49 years old group.

Percentage of U.S. adults who use Pinterest as of February 2021, by age group

Share of respondents
18-29 32%
30-49 34%
50-64 38%
65+ 18%

Time

Income 

  • Pinterest attracts more users that earn more than $75k/year, as well as those with college degrees or higher education.

Gender

Pinterest Gender Distribution

  • The gender gap in Pinterest is pretty marked with considerably more female pinners than male.

Device usage 

  • 58.78%  of Pinterest traffic comes from desktops.

  • According to Pinterest, 85% of their users have downloaded the app.

The takeaway

  • The majority of female users are one of the characteristics that differentiate Pinterest from other social platforms.
  • Although according to the stats, older users are the majority of the audience, recently there has been an increase of GenZ and millennials using the platform.
  • It is product-focused and offers a good opportunity for ads because of the high-earning audience.

Snapchat

Source

2021 Snapchat Demographics

Although it was overlooked for a long time, Snapchat is wildly popular among younger users.

Active users per month

  • Snapchat has 265 million monthly active users.

Age distribution

  • 75%  of their users are aged 13-34.

Snapchat Age Distribution

Source: MarketingCharts.com

Time

  • Snapchat users spend on average 30 minutes per day on the platform.

Income 

  • 42% of medium income ($70-80k/year) households use Snapchat.
  • 32% of the lower-income range use the platform.
  • 39% of the higher-income households use Snapchat.

Gender

  • There is a gender disparity in Snapchat in favor of female users which are almost double than the male.
  • 61%  of Snapchat users are female.
  • 38% are male.

Device usage 

  • Snapchat is only available from mobile.
  • The app is the second most used app on mobile devices.

The takeaway

  • While the platform doesn’t create much buzz, it is the most popular social network among teens, even before TikTok.
  • The audience is very engaged, opening the app an average of 30 times a day.

Which Networks Are the Best for You According to Your Industry?

The data and figures we mentioned are meant to be a general indication of the audiences for each social media platform.

To define your marketing strategy, you should look at the specific demographic for your target audience and compare it with the data we presented.

Finding the right social network for your company depends on your audience and your industry. First, find out where your users are hanging out on social media. Then look at their demographic characteristics.

Different industries may need different channels. For instance, if your company caters to teenagers, you should look to promote your products on Snapchat, Instagram, and TikTok.

If your company offers B2B services, then Linkedin or maybe Facebook is your platforms. If your audience is DIYves, then look at Pinterest and Instagram.

Why Are Demographics Important for Your Monetization Strategy? 

Demographics is critical for marketing and monetization strategies. Demographics help you understand the characteristics of your audience.

It explains who is your user and helps you with customer segmentation, helping target exactly your ideal customer. You should use demographics to make your marketing efforts more effective.

How a One-Stop Monetization Solution Can Help

Instead of searching and analyzing myriad statistics before you even start with your monetization efforts, leverage a monetization solution. This will simplify the task, segmenting and profiling your audience so you can monetize your digital properties effectively.

CodeFuel is a one-stop monetization solution that makes highly targeted monetization much easier. The solution allows you to leverage search, display, and shopping ads with intent-based targeting. Therefore, offering relevant ads and news to your audience. Learn more about how CodeFuel can help here.

How to Monetize a Website? The Ultimate Guide for Beginners

How to Monetize a Website? The Ultimate Guide for Beginners

Can you actually make a living from your new website? Yes, but you need to know how to do it right. Website monetization requires a lot of work and the right tools. That’s why here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide.

Why Should You Monetize Your Website?

The popularity of successful bloggers and content creators may seem that making money on the Internet is simple. Most people think all it takes is to build a website or blog, choose how to monetize it, and sit to reap the earnings.

In reality, more than half of bloggers make less than $5000 a year. And most bloggers quit even before the year. Why?

It is easy to create a website or blog; What is hard is keeping it consistently valuable so you can make money from it.

To make money from your website, first, build your audience.

Attract them with great quality content that answers their queries.  Remember to be consistent when publishing your content and integrate a social media strategy. If you do this month after month., there is a great chance you will succeed.

Blogging can be a lucrative business, with some bloggers earning six figures a month. Other sites use a combination of strategies from paid advertising, e-commerce sales, and sponsored deals.

Sure, those websites and bloggers spent years building their audiences, authority, and traffic. Some websites and bloggers fail to make money because the site is not going to make money by itself.

It requires creating content, optimizing for SEO, growing your social media base, and engaging your audience. Once you have all this in place, then the money may start coming.

Best Strategies to Monetize a Website in 2021 – 2023

This section is not a get-rich-quick guide, but following some of these monetization strategies can help you achieve a nice ROI.

Related content: Monetization Guide for Beginners in 2021

1. Pay-per-Click Advertising on Google

Pay Per Click advertising on Google

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In this model, you sign up with a monetization platform or ad network. The network displays your website. You get paid a small fee every time a visitor clicks on the ad.

An example of a monetization platform is CodeFuel, which serves relevant ads based on user intent. The advantage of a monetization platform is that it can work with other ad networks and further extend monetization options.

In this model, the ad network or monetization platform is a middleman, bridging advertisers and publishers. They take out the hassle of finding advertisers to present ads on your site. But not only that. Working with CodeFuel – you enjoy smart optimization so your pages perform even better. Curious to find out more? Contact the CodeFuel monetization experts today.

2. Selling ad space

The marketing concept of selling ad space on a website refers to the practice of publishers generating income by offering advertising slots on their web pages to interested buyers. Publishers can directly start to sell ad space to brands or use ad networks. To take part in this form of website advertising, publishers need their own ad server to deliver completed as creatives to their website, or they can use the ad network delivering server.

Monetizing your ad space is one of the easiest and most popular ways of monetization. If you want to sell ad space, your layout must be kept in mind, so you don’t clutter the space with ads. Too many ads can push visitor’s back instead of attracting them to your site.

Selling ad space

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You should keep in mind the layout and placement of your ads because a cluttered site may put off visitors that may feel too salesly. Keep your website interesting by mixing different ad space. Also, different placements have different rates, so you can charge a higher rate for a larger ad space, such as a leaderboard, than for a small square on the side.

Selling ad space on a website focuses on the needs of businesses, defines their goods and services, and targets anyone who can buy them, ultimately improving advertisers’ sales and increasing the website’s revenue.

Learn more about how to choose the right ad placements with our guide

3. Add an Affiliate link: Use Affiliate marketing

How Affiliate Program works

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Affiliate marketing is a type of online advertising that involves a company paying compensation to third-party publishers or affiliates to promote their products or services to their audience. In this form of marketing, affiliates earn a commission for each successful sale or lead generated through their unique affiliate links.

This form of marketing is helpful for affiliate partners and companies. It helps affiliate partners to generate income without having to invest in creating products or services, while businesses can reach a broader audience without having to spend a significant amount on advertising. Affiliate marketing is easy to set up and requires only a website to promote products or services to the audience.

To succeed in affiliate marketing, one needs to choose relevant products to promote, find the right platforms to promote the products and follow ethical practices.

How does this work with a website?

When you sign up with an affiliate network, you get affiliate links to the advertiser’s site. For instance, if your website is about books, you earn a commission every time a customer buys a book by using your affiliate link.

Affiliate marketing sometimes gets a bad reputation. You must comply with disclosure regulations to succeed with affiliate marketing without risking your good name. Here are some recommendations for affiliate partners and websites: 

  • Be transparent: disclose any affiliate link or referral relationships you have.
  • Target to your audience needs: only recommend products that give value to your audience.
  • Don’t be too promotional: over-promoting annoys your visitors. And never promote a product that you didn’t check or know.

Where can you put the affiliate links?

The links are most effective when they are part of valuable content. Some examples of content you may produce include:

  • Product reviews
  • Product comparisons
  • Tutorials

Steps to create an affiliate marketing strategy

  1. Do your research: Try to find products or services that would solve a pain point for your audience and would complement your niche brand.
  2. Join an affiliate program: There are numerous affiliate programs. Some pay you per lead made, while others pay you per sale. Learn how to choose the right affiliate network for you. Some examples of affiliate programs are ClickBank, Commission Junction, and ClickBank.
  3. Update your content: the content should be relevant and high quality to encourage your viewer to click on the affiliate link. Good content doesn’t limit to blogs. You can also write reviews, how-to articles, resource pages, and landing pages.
  4. Remember to refresh your links: Affiliate links expire after a few days, so set reminders to refresh them.
  5. Keep your eyes open for offers: Sometimes, affiliate networks and companies will have special offers to earn extra money. 

4. Sell a product or merchandise on an e-commerce store

Sell a product or merchandise on an e-commerce store

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You may already have a physical product to sell. If not, creating and selling a digital product can be a great monetization strategy. A digital product is something that falls under the approach of “create once, distribute forever”, which enables you to generate income without having to create products all the time.

You create the product and promote it to your audience. Some examples of digital content you may sell:

  • E-guides, e-books, and audiobooks: if you are an expert on a subject, put your expertise to use in a book and sell it. You don’t need to send them to print and distribute your ebooks in digital form. You can also offer printing on-demand or turn your e-guide into an audiobook. Audiobooks offer users the convenience of following a book from anywhere, in the car, on the bus, or while working out. That’s why they are very popular.
  • Build an app or extension: an application can extend the reach of your website. For instance, adding a workout tracking app can increase your earnings if you run a fitness website.
  • Sell merch:  popular bloggers and content creators also make money by selling merchandise. While you can see this more with YouTubers, bloggers and niche websites also sell merch, adding an extra income stream.

5. Start a Paid Membership website

Paid Membership website

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Setting up a paid membership sittes can bring you a steady income. You can create a paid gated community where users can engage in forums, discussion boards, and workshops. If you are geared towards online learning, you can create a paid membership that gives access to varied educational material, like courses, webinars, and podcasts. 

6. Build an email list

Email lists are essential for lead generation. But did you know that you can monetize access to your email list? If your newsletter gives value to your users, you charge users to access it. Examples of paid newsletters include The Economist and VeryGoodCopy. You can charge directly or use Patreon to set a sponsorship model.

7. Generate ‘Leads’ for Other Companies

If you promote other businesses’ products on your website, you can use that to generate leads for them. Through content pieces like product reviews or comparison articles, you can direct interested users to a business landing page with a form. There they can opt-in to the business offers. Lead generation services can add revenue to a website. Keep in mind that running a website specializing in product reviews and comparisons can work better.

8. Accept sponsored posts and publish product reviews

Publishers often think that adding sponsored content or sponsored posts can negatively impact their own brand. But in reality, sponsored content adds more value and options to your offer. When you give your users sponsored reviews on recommended products, you give them answers to their queries.

This strategy also helps you grow your site authority as you provide expert advice for a product or service. In addition, you can offer sponsorship opportunities for your live streams, which is one of the latest trends in content marketing.

Why publish sponsored posts and content? Why is it valuable to readers?

Sponsored content can be valuable for website owners looking to increase engagement and revenue as well as web traffic. By partnering with sponsors to create premium content that aligns with their brand, website owners can offer their target audience informative and engaging content they might not otherwise have access to.

Sponsored posts and content can help build trust and loyalty with dedicated readers while generating revenue for the website through sponsored content deals. Additionally, sponsored content can provide website owners with an opportunity to showcase their expertise and thought leadership in their industry, helping to establish them as a go-to resource for their audience

9. Put content behind a paywall. 

You can create exclusive or specific content and charge for it. This allows you to give them premium content that they cannot get from other sites. This model is popular among research firms (Statista premium) and business publications like the Harvard Business Review.

content behind a paywall

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10. Monetize your expertise

If you are an individual blogger and an expert in your industry, you can offer your services directly from your site: one-on-one consulting, speaking engagements, or any other service you may like. Your site can be your personal portfolio.

What services may you offer?  This will depend on your expertise niche, but in reality, the sky is the limit.

Some examples may include

  • Photographers
  • Life coaches
  • Writers – Copywriters
  • Web developers
  • Graphic Designers
  • Personal trainers
  • Fashion stylists

11. Ask for donations

The practice of asking your website visitors for donations to support your site has become more popular in the latest years. It may seem unusual, but when you think about it, it gives you a monetizing option without having to fill your site with ads.

Gamers, artists, video and comic creators are among the types that adopted this method successfully. Photographers on free stock sites would usually add a donation button.  Other examples include non-profits and social campaign sites.

12. Launch a dropshipping store

dropshipping store

If you want to enter the world of e-commerce online store(s) without hassling over inventory, shipping, and production, then dropshipping can be a solution for you.

When you set up a dropshipping store, your supplier keeps the stock until you made a sale. The supplier also takes care of the packing (with your brand) and shipping to your clients.

That seems easy, and it can make you about $5000 a month,  but you need to put in an effort. A successful dropshipping online store involves finding reliable suppliers, setting up an attractive e-commerce store, giving good customer service, and promoting the business.

13. Launch and offer online courses & memberships

Online courses are a very popular way to turn your expertise into money online. You create the online course once, and then you can earn a recurring income every time a user signs up for the course. During the pandemic, e-learning became almost essential, and with the market expected to reach $325 billion by 2025, it is a very lucrative opportunity.

You can launch a certification program for sites that are suitable for e-learning. You must be an established authority in your niche for this strategy to work. Your brand should be recognized with a solid customer or fan base.

By launching a certification program, website owners can give users actionable knowledge they can relate to your brand. If you already offer e-courses, you can offer an advanced training program. This method will also strengthen your brand and your authority in your industry.

An example of such monetization strategy is Copyhacker’s Copy School. While you can do many of their courses for free, they have a specific certification program for conversion copywriters.

Offer Subscription-based membership

Besides offering paid courses, you can also add a premium membership tier, subscription-based. Premium users can unlock new or exclusive content, reference materials, or specific tutorials that are not available to regular users. For example, while HubSpot courses are free, the company offers Bootcamps for users of their solution.

14. Flip and Sell Websites

Website developers can make a good income by investing in websites that are monetizing but require a boost. Then improving them by growing the traffic, raising their value, and selling them. That is called website flipping.

To be successful, you need to select the right website according to the potential of selling it. E-commerce, financial, and drop shipping sites usually get the highest price, according to Empire 

Flippers.  You should check metrics such as traffic, SEO, conversion rates, audience, and monthly revenue.

If you are good at building websites, you can opt for building and selling ready-made websites. Of course, this is not that easy. You need to find a suitable niche, promote it, grow it to make it attractive, monetize the website, and put it for sale. Hopefully, you’ll find an interested buyer.

15. Start using Google Adsense.

Google AdSense is Google’s offering for an ad network that enables publishers to monetize their websites with ads. Google AdSense is a great opportunity for site owners that want to monetize with ads because of its massive reach. In 2022, Google’s ad revenue reached 224.47 billion US dollars, mostly from search advertising.

Using Google Adsense

Source: Statista

This solution works programmatically, which means an automatic bidding system selects the best ads for the website. Google uses different types of targeting to select the ads for your site.

Learn more about monetizing with AdSense with our  How to Make Money with Google AdSense guide.

How Many Views Do You Need to Monetize Your Website?

For your website monetization efforts to be effective, you need a large number of views, starting from 10,000 organic views a month, especially if you are monetizing through an ad network.

Ad networks like Google Adsense pay, on average $5 per 1000 views. Therefore, if you want to make a full-time income (around $5000/month), you should increase your views to 1,000,000.

But don’t get discouraged because if you have a niche website, there are strategies that can make it work with a smaller audience. Small site owners can work with niche ad networks, for example.

RANK
1
2
3
4
5
WEBSITE
Amazon
Google
JD.com
Facebook
Tencent
ANNUAL REVENUE
$107 billion
$74.98 billion
$28 billion
$17.93 billion
$12.89 billion

These sites use varied strategies for monetization. If you want to monetize with ads, look at the following sections, where we’ll explain more in detail.

What Type of Ads Should I Use to Monetize My Website?

There are many types of ads for monetizing your website. If you wonder how to choose the right type of ad for your website, continue reading. Here are the most popular types of adverts, you’ll surely find a type that is right for your website.

  • Banner Ads: These are the most popular form of advertising and monetizes the site by inserting an ad into the webpage. However popular, banner ads are not the most effective conversion-wise. Monetizing with banners requires that your website be attractive for advertisers, with a large base of organic traffic.
  • Video ads: Video can be more effective than static ads. It engages the user easily and, in general, may convert better. Adding video ads can be a good source of revenue if you do it smartly. Avoid interrupting the user experience or start playing automatically as the user enters the page. You can set it up to play when the user reaches related content.
  • Interstitial Ads: These types of ads cover the interface of the host app or site. Since they are interactive, they are designed to appear between the content without disrupting the user experience. Their higher impression rates usually result in higher click-through rates.
  • Native Ads:  these are ads that blend with the content, resulting in a higher visual engagement than other types of ads. Since they complement the content, enhance the user experience.

Optimize Your Website’s Ad Experience

Giving your users a great ad experience will make them more likely to click on the ads. Here are some ways you can make your users’ ad experience more enjoyable: 

  • Optimize for mobile

Your website visitors will come to your website through different devices, therefore you want them to enjoy the ads from anywhere.

Ensure your users can see the ads properly also from mobile without the need for squinting or zooming. 

  • Optimize the layout

As we mentioned above, a page that is cluttered with ads can actually annoy the user. Experiment with the placement and number of ads until you find a rate that brings the most impact without being too busy. 

  • Give users a unique ad experience. 

Even when you cater to a specific audience, your users are all unique. Publishers should customize the ad experience according to different user categories to optimize results. You can do this by using monetization software that displays ads according to user intent.

The Best Tools for Testing Ads

You should test the ads to make sure you have the winning combination in your hands. Typically, publishers and advertisers will use A/B testing to choose the more effective ad version. You should check the usability, reach, and engagement of your ads. 

If you are not an expert on ad testing, you can use tools that make your life easier. Here are some of the most popular:

Google Optimize – Free

Google Optimize

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This online split-testing tool from Google works as a plug-in for your website. You can test several versions of your as or conduct A/B testing. It is simple to set up and free. To use it, you open Google Optimize and connect your Google Analytics account. The caveat is that it is not automated so you have to do everything manually, taking time and effort.

Optimizely – Paid

Optimizely

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If Google Optimize is not enough, Optimizely is a good paid option, which is also very popular. It is a low-cost option and easy to use. To use Optimizely, you add the code to your site and can start optimizing in a few minutes. This also works for other digital products like as.

Unbounce

Unbounce

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This tool specializes in A/B testing. With Unbounce, you can compare multiple variants of the same ad by website visitors and conversion rates. You can try the multiple versions on an equal number of users or use the “smart traffic” feature, which lets you learn which pages work for different user categories.  You can learn more about how to use this tool for A/B testing by consulting the documentation.

How to Balance UX and Monetization Effectively

Balance UX and Monetization

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If you choose to monetize with ads probably, you’ll think that more ads mean more revenue. In reality, using every available space in your webpage with ads can have exactly the opposite effect.

To have great revenue potential from ads, your visitors need to want to click on them. That means you need to ensure your users have a great experience.

Here are three keys you should keep in mind to balance user experience and ads: 

1. You don’t need all the ads

Focus on the ones that actually drive engagement for your website. Choose the ads that will give more value to your specific audience. People tend to scan the page looking at what is relevant for them. That is why ads that are contextually relevant are more effective.

2. Yes, you can personalize the ads.

Your audience is made of different individuals, and everyone has a particular intent when visiting your website. How can you ensure your ad’s offering relates to each visitor? That’s where monetization platforms based on user intent come to help. CodeFuel, for instance, displays ads based on the user intent, therefore keeping the offer relevant to the visitor.

Can You Monetize a Free Website?

Monetize a free webistev

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The short answer is yes; you just need to find the right monetization method. Most websites online offer their content for free. How can you make money online from your free website?

Let’s say you have a free WordPress website with a paid hosting and a custom domain name. In this case, you can monetize it by using some of the methods we mentioned above. Here are some monetization strategies for monetizing a free website:

  • Affiliate marketing 
  • Display ads
  • Newsletter to a product:  where you promote to your email list outside of WordPress, for instance, through a Shopify store.

You can also apply sponsored posts, sponsored content to sell your own products. You can do almost everything as a paid website. Keep in mind that some advertising networks like AdSense don’t work with free websites.

FAQ About Website Monetization

How do you monetize a website without ads?

Website monetization is the process of generating income from a website. While ads are a common way to monetize a website, other methods can also be used. One way to monetize a website without ads is through affiliate marketing. This involves partnering with companies and promoting their products on your website, earning a commission for any resulting sales.

Another website monetization method without ads is selling your products or services, including physical goods or digital products like e-books or online courses. Both of these website monetization methods offer alternatives to relying on ad revenue.

Other methods of website monetization may include:

  • Flipping websites
  • Accepting donations
  • Gating content
  • Accepting donations
  • Holding paid webinars, workshops, and e-courses.

How much does AdSense pay per 1000 views?

Google pays 68% of its AdSense revenue to the publisher. The commission you get will depend on the Cost per Click in your niche. These days the commission per click ranges between $0.20 and $15, depending on how profitable is the niche.

How to monetize a website? 

Having a profitable website is the goal of every site owner. You can reach this goal by using some proven ways to monetize your website while using your site’s content. There are several ways to make money from your site. Here is a short list of the best ways to monetize a website include:

  • Affiliate marketing
  • Display ads
  • Native ads
  • Review products
  • Sell digital products.

Optimize your monetization efforts and Optimize your website with CodeFuel

Monetize Your Digital Properties

CodeFuel is a complete monetization platform that helps you generate revenue from your digital properties, such as your website, extension, or application.

You can monetize your website with ease by leveraging user intent to display text ads, shopping and news. Increase conversions and click-through rates by serving contextually relevant shopping ads on your search result pages or website. This ensures your ads are served to match high-intent visitors, encouraging purchasing decisions.

CodeFuel is a free monetization platform that smoothly integrates into your existing solutions, offers end-to-end account management and business intelligence reports to track your monetization progress.

Are you ready to monetize? Contact CodeFuel and start monetizing the smart way today.

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How to Monetize your Browser Extension: 9 Proven Tips to Make Money

How to Monetize your Browser Extension: 9 Proven Tips to Make Money

Browser extensions make your work easier and quicker. That’s why there is an extension for almost everything under the sun. There are currently over 188 thousand extensions on the Chrome Web Store. Creating a browser extension can be a steady source of income if you monetize it right. In this post, we’ll show you ways to monetize your browser extension.

What can you find in this post?

How Browser Extensions Make Money?

Browser Extensions

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Digital products help you get more exposure for your brand while generating a revenue stream. Creating a browser extension gives you a product you can market to your current clients and target audience. Since extensions are meant to make work easier and solve problems, they enhance the user experience and build loyalty to your brand.

Generally speaking, extensions make money from selling the extension, adding advertising, or affiliate marketing. The right monetization method will depend on your target audience. Before choosing a monetization method ask yourself these questions:

  • What problem does the extension solve?
  • How people will use the extension?
  • What is the target audience demographics?
  • Which browser do they use the most and for what purposes?

Keep in mind that some people may use a browser on their personal devices and another one for work purposes. According to what your extension is for, you should align the extension to the browser your users are on.

Once you know who is your user and how will they use the extension you can plan how to make money from it.

Below you can find some ideas for how to monetize your extension.

How Does Mozilla Make Money?

Maybe you have heard about Mozilla. It is the parent company of the Firefox browser. The company was started in 2003 as an alternative to Microsoft’s Internet Explorer. Having add-ons and extensions was one of the reasons Mozilla had 26% of the browser market in 2008 and, by 2009, surpassed IE as the most popular browser.

Since Mozilla Firefox is open-source and distributed freely, how do they make money?

How Does Firefox Make Money?

Most of the revenue generated by the company comes from search royalties through search partnerships and distribution deals. That means the percentage of advertising profit Mozilla receives when someone uses the built-in search engine. They also earn money through sponsored tab tiles and donations.

For publishers, developing a Firefox add-on can generate revenue through selling advertising space, bundling with other downloads, and more.

How Does Chrome Make Money?

Google’s main source of income is by showing ads on Google’s search results page. For Chrome, Google uses a similar business model to Mozilla Firefox but with a twist. Instead of paying out search royalties, Google transfers the money received from advertisers to the Chrome part of Google. Additionally, Chrome collects user data that is used to target personalized ads.

If you add your extension to Chrome, you can monetize it by adding advertising, offering in-app payments, paid features, and other methods we’ll explore.

So, let’s start. Below you can find some ideas for how to monetize your extension.

Top 9 Tips To Monetize a Chrome or Firefox Extension

Firefox Extension

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If you did your homework, you’ll know by now what browser you should use for your extension. Let’s explore some ideas for extension monetization:

1. Sell Advertising

This is one of the most common ways to monetize your extension. It involves displaying ads when the user uses the extension. You can sell space on your extension. Also, instead o selling space for static ads, you can rotate the ads, maximizing your revenue potential. This enables also them to reach other potential customers.

Display advertising is one of the most common methods to integrate ads into your extension. It includes displaying different types of ads, such as interactive, pop-up, video, and interstitial ads.

If you want to add adverts to your extension, you have two options: you can look for the advertisers yourself or you can sign up for a service. Looking for your own advertisers requires a lot of marketing efforts, negotiating the rates, and type of ads.

A monetization platform like CodeFuel is much easier since it gives you access to a large range of ad networks. The service displays relevant ads according to the user intent, maximizing the chances for conversions. This also increases your opportunity for selling more ads and gain access to high-paying advertisers.

2. Charge for the Extension

Your browser can be a source of income by itself. Charging a small fee for it can generate a lot of income by selling many copies of your extension. While most extensions in the Chrome Store are free, don’t be discouraged. Instead, you can use a freemium.

Freemium is a monetization method where you encourage downloads by offering the extension for free for a period of time. If you want to go this route, you have a couple of options here.

  • Offer a free trial of the whole extension for a month or two weeks.
  • Offer a free version with limited features

Keep in mind that Google is discontinuing paid Chrome extensions. That means developers can no longer charge for the extensions via Chrome Web Store payments.

3. Offer subscriptions

Instead of charging a one-time fee for your extension, you can offer it for a monthly fee. For this to work you will need to offer more value. For example, the VPN extension I use has a basic free package but if you want full service, you paid the subscription. Other examples are productivity extensions, like Grammarly which offers a basic free service and a premium paid option.

Be sure to include the best premium features into the paid package and improving the extension along the line. This will help justify the subscription expense to the user.

4. In-app payments

With this method, you offer the extension for free but there are certain features you charge for. In this case, the user can choose which feature wants to add. This is very common with gaming extensions that offer in-app purchases.

5. Affiliate marketing

Affiliate marketing

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This method is very popular and involves earning a commission by promoting other companies’ products. Extensions can display banners or ads that direct the user to the advertiser’s product or landing page. You get paid a commission when a user completes a purchase using the link displayed in your extension. 

Although popular, this method can put off users if the banners are not related to the extension’s features. Displaying contextual ads can solve this problem. Since they blend with the extension, they enhance the user experience rather than interrupting it.

6. Paid features

You can offer your extension for free and reserve some features to sell individually. That way your users can purchase.  If you are working with a donation scheme, you can unlock certain features after the user donated a certain amount via PayPal.

7. Search advertising

This strategy places ads on search engine results. Search advertising is not interruption marketing, therefore is less intrusive for the user experience. Search ads can be customized according to user intent, thus the ads are relevant to what they are searching for.

How does this work for an extension? This is one of the most popular methods for monetizing extensions since it generates revenue while enhancing the user experience.

8. Bundling

Bundling

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When users download your browser extension, you can take advantage and offer related apps or other software. If you have several apps, you can promote your own products to increase your sales. You can also promote other companies’ applications. In this case, you can charge a flat fee for advertisements or a commission for every download.

Ensure the products you bundle relate to your extension, so they increase the value of the offering. Besides being selective, don’t overwhelm your users with more than a few apps. More than three would be too many.

9. Ask for donations

Donations

Donation is a strategy that has become popular in the last few years. While not what you typically expect from monetizing, it can be effective. Asking for donations gives your customers the choice to pay for your extension. Sure, you risk giving away the extension for free.

In reality, when people have the choice to make a donation, they tend not only to pay but pay more than the minimum. That’s why asking for donations appeals to people’s emotions. Asking for donations may not make millions of dollars in revenue, but you can have extra money while increasing your exposure.

Optimize your Extension Monetization with CodeFuel 

CodeFuel

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CodeFuel is a complete monetization platform that offers intent-based monetization for your digital properties, including app, search engine, or browser extension. By leveraging the power of search monetization, your users get served shopping and text ads customized according to their intent. It works with large ad networks including Bing and Google AdSense.

The free platform has an easy setup and integrates smoothly with existing software. You can keep your monetization efforts on track with our BI and detailed reports. Start monetizing the smart way with CodeFuel today.