Ad Revenue: What Is and How to Increase it?

Ad Revenue: What Is and How to Increase it?

If you have a website or an application, you’ll surely want to monetize it. Using digital ads is the most common way to monetize a website. But, does monetizing through ads really work? Here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide to help you understand what ad revenue is and how to optimize it.

What’s Digital Ad Revenue 

Advertising revenue refers to the income that people and businesses earn by displaying paid advertisements on their digital properties, like websites, social media channels, and applications along with their online content. Companies are increasingly investing in digital ads and the trend is not decreasing.

Studies forecast digital ad spending will reach $242.80 billion by 2024.

Ad Revenue Forecast

Image source: emarketer.com

The shift to online shopping of 2025 is here to stay. Consumers still spend time in online activities, so digital advertising is still going strong.

How Digital Advertising Works

Digital ads work by using advertising tools that research, track, analyze and improve online ad campaigns. Digital advertising involves more than placing ads on social media and websites. It involves personalization and targeting your audience through relevant ads.

Advertising

How do Advertisers Make Money?

Ad networks work under programmatic advertising technology. In programmatic advertising, ad spaces are offered in real-time auctions. Advertisers bid for individual impressions instead of buying blocks of ad space. 

The programmatic advertising system allows advertisers to make more revenue. Advertisers can set the criteria for the ad spaces in their ads will be displayed, including type of content, size, and type of ad. Buyers can reach their target audience more accurately than with traditional advertising. 

Types of Digital Advertising Revenue Models

As every company and audience is unique, there are different strategies for digital advertising. Each company should choose the strategy that works best for its audience and goals. Let’s explore the most popular types of digital advertising.

PPC

Pay per click is an advertising model where the advertiser pays the publisher for every click their ad receives on their page. PPC marketing is one of the most popular advertising strategies since giants like Google and Facebook started to use it.

For publishers, working with a monetization platform may ensure you get the best advertisers for your site. The platform handles the bidding and serves the ads that are most relevant for your users, therefore increasing clicks and conversions for advertisers.

SEO marketing

SEO Marketing

SEO is still one of the most effective marketing strategies and with good reason. To be able to consume ads from your site, your audience needs to find you easily when they are searching for a query.

SEO allows you to show your users that yours is the result they are looking for. With billions of searches conducted every day online, you need to ensure your site appears in their search results. And by results we mean the first page of the SERP (search engine results page). If your business isn’t on page 1, it is almost you don’t exist.

Content marketing

How To Convert Traffic Into Money

You may have heard the phrase: “ Content is King”. Why is this so? Because visitors come to a website looking for an answer, information, evidence, or social proof. That’s why storytelling works, and content marketing forms the base of SEO and other strategies.

Put it simply, if your content is not good, you’re not going to retain visitors, and your ad revenue will suffer.

The most popular form of content marketing are articles and blog posts ( like this one!). Articles and blogs have many benefits for publishers and website owners:

  •  give valuable information to your potential customers
  • tackle objections
  • answer frequent questions visitors may have about the products or services your target audience looks for in your site.

Influencer marketing

An influencer is a person that has a large base of followers on social media. They can be on one or several social media platforms. Influencers are usually celebrities first, and then get their fans to follow them on social media.

Influencer marketing I

The famous chef Nusret, (@saltbae) is one non- celebrity famous influencer on Instagram, for instance. And his fame has skyrocketed since publishing his famous videos preparing meat and adding salt to food.

Influencer marketing II

Why are influencers so important? Because when they tell their followers how good is a product, they are more likely to buy.

Video marketing

Video ads are getting more and more traction every year. 

Video marketing

Source

Adding video ads to your website is a great way to improve engagement and keep users on site. Video advertising taps onto the viewers’ emotions, that’s why ads that tell stories get more views. Matthew Luhn, a former storyteller for Pixar, told Forbes in an interview that “great stories make great ads”.

Viral marketing

Viral marketing has a bad rap but it works. Usually, viral marketing takes the form of funny videos, the funnier, controversial the videos, the faster they get shared and spread.

How to Create Your Digital Advertising Strategy in 4 Steps

Now that you know the basics of digital advertising it is time to create your digital advertising strategy.

Step #1: Define Your Target Audience 

The first step and the most critical for a successful online advertising strategy is to define your target audience. According to your audience is the type of ads you are going to publish on your website. Without an audience in mind, how do you know which kind of advertisers you need to attract?

Who are the users of your site? Look at the demographics, age, income, interests. On which social media platforms they use to hang out?. Once you have your ideal persona you’ll know how to refine your site or app to cater to them.

Step #2: Choose Your Monetization Platform

How do you monetize your website will depend on its size and reach of it and also on your audience. Monetization platforms serve the ads on your site, so you don’t have to.

You can choose to work with large organizations or with more specialized solutions according to the requirements of your audience and site.

Step #3:  Mix your Ads 

If you can, mix the type of ads you publish on your site. A healthy mix of banner ads, displays, video and text can engage users without boredom. Also, take a look at the esthetic of the ads you present on your site and how they blend with your content.

The more they blend and the less they look like ads, the better for the customer experience and clicks. Look for native ads, that integrate seamlessly with your content and have a better click-through rate.

Step #4: Monitor and Analyze Results

Test, refine, and repeat. Monitor the metrics, calculate the revenue and compare different strategies and campaigns with A/B split testing. Then refine the strategy to improve the results.

How to Get Paid For Generating Ad Revenue 

Several ad networks can help you get paid for your always-increasing ad revenue. Some of the most popular are Google AdSense, Bing, and Amazon for Publishers. The revenue you can get from the ads varies according to the platform.

You should choose the ad network that offers you the most variety of ads and caters to your specific audience. Here are some basic types of ad networks:

  • Premium Ad Networks: These networks focus on inventory from high-quality publishers.
  • Inventory-specific Ad Networks: These networks specialize in a specific inventory, like mobile or video. They help app developers, for example, to increase their revenue.
  • Vertical Ad Networks: These networks work with certain topics, like health, fashion or tech. If your website is set on a specific niche, you can increase ad revenue by targeting a specific audience.
  • Affiliate Marketing Networks: Affiliate advertising networks link affiliate marketers with brands that want to promote their products and services through dedicated programs. These networks provide a way to earn ad revenue  for influencers and website owners who want to promote other businesses’ products without carrying inventory.

Some networks handle all types of advertisers, in a generalist approach. Examples of this category include Google ADX, Google AdSense, or social media platforms like Facebook. These networks usually have a massive reach. However, they may lack on targeting.

Another alternative for publishers to increase their ad revenue is by using a monetization platform: While they are not networks per se, these tools offer you access to multiple ad networks and marketing resources. These networks allow the publisher to connect with multiple ad networks, maximizing the exposure.  CodeFuel, for instance, is a complete ad network and monetization platform that helps publishers and app developers monetize their digital properties.

Want to learn more about what ad network is best for you? Check our Ultimate List of the Best Ad Networks for Publishers for 2023.

4 Ways to Increase the Ad Revenue from Your Website 

When it comes to getting revenue from your site, there are common ways, like e-commerce, advertising, or affiliate marketing. In this section, we’ll be focused on 4 ways you can increase the revenue from advertising for your website.

#1. Sell Advertising Space

This is the most common way to make money from advertising. You sell the advertising space directly to advertisers. Manage the layout so the website is not cluttered by too many ads. Bear in mind this method works better for recognized and high-traffic sites.

#2. PPC Advertising

As mentioned above, Pay-per-click is another advertising method that is very popular. With PPC ads, you get paid every time a user clicks on an ad on your site. You can use Google AdSense or another ad network, like CodeFuel. Since you don’t have to deal directly with advertisers, PPC is a great choice for website owners.

#3. CPM Advertising

CPM is similar to PPC advertising in that it pays based on an action on the ad. However, CPM pays per impression or view of an ad. To get paid, you’ll need at least 1000 views of an ad.

#4. Affiliate Marketing 

By using this method, you make money from the website through advertising and promoting products sponsored on the site. Working with affiliate marketing is similar somehow to e-commerce but the products are promoted on your site on behalf of advertisers. You get paid by sales or traffic generated from it for the merchant.

How to Calculate Ad Revenue

Calculating ad revenue depends on what’s the pricing model you choose.

For instance, if you choose to charge by Cost per Mille (CPM):

  1. Find your total earnings.
  2. Divide it by the number of impressions to your website or app in the period you choose.
  3. Multiply the result by 1000. This will determine the CPM you are receiving. 

Received CPM = Total earnings x 1000 / Number of impressions

How a publisher can calculate his ad revenue? 

Even better for a publisher is to calculate eCPM (Effective Cost per Mille). This metric measures the ad revenue generated by ads on a website.

How do you calculate eCPM?

  1. Find the ad revenue per banner or advertising campaign.
  2. Divide it by a thousand ad impressions.
eCPM = ad revenue per banner/ 1000 ad impressions

This metric shows publishers how much they are from a display ad if the ad is profitable or not.

How to Increase the Ad Revenue from Your App or Extension

In-app ads is one of the most common ways of generating revenue from your app,

because most applications in the App Store or Google Play Store are free, publishers should find another way to make money from their app.

In-app advertising implies displaying advertisements inside your mobile app. Ads are displayed at defined times or triggered by determined interactions when a person uses the app.

App developers and extensions can increase ad revenue by mixing different ad types, such as banner ads, videos, displays, or interstitials. While banner ads are common for desktop, there are too small to be seen properly in a mobile app, so there are not a good choice to bring ad revenue. Here are some examples of ad types that help improve the app monetization:

  • Interstitial ads are triggered by the user utilization of the app, and are often served at the end of a section or stage on the application. They don’t disturb the user experience, which increases their CTR.
  • Native ads: these apps blend seamlessly into the app at the point the user barely distinguish them from the content. They also translate into high CTRs, which in turn results in higher ad revenue.
  • Video ads: video mobile ads are very popular right now. Just think about the ads that pop between Spotify songs. Place them where does not interrupt the usability of the app for maximum profitability.
  • Affiliate: Placing other application’ adverts on your app can help you bring more revenue, by getting paid commission every time a user clicks on it.

If you want to know more about other ways you can monetize your app, look at our App Monetization Guide 2023.

Tips to Increase Your Ad Revenue Through Smart Advertising

The right advertising can help you establish your position as a publisher and bring you a steady source of revenue.

Too many publishers get excited with the idea of displaying ads and then get frustrated when the results are not what they expected. Here are some tips to optimize your advertising strategy.

Invest in better user intent targeting

Ad networks usually offer several targeting options for your ads. Some networks will give you qualifiers to filter who you want to show the ads to. For instance, location or search interests. Others offer re-targeting customers who visited your site or showed interest in the products.

For example, let’s see how Facebook targeting works:

Targeting starts by creating an audience. Facebook (Meta) features enable you to create and define your ad’s target audience by interest, gender, or location. The system uses machine learning, so once the ad runs, it can learn who interacts with it and narrow the audience.

Go to your Dashboard and choose to create an audience. Then choose the location, age, gender, and interests.

User intent targeting

(Source: Facebook)

Who can be your target audience? You can create a custom audience by targeting users that visited your website, used your app, or are on your customers’ list.

Grimper Instagram account

(Source: Facebook)

Facebook also allows the creation of Lookalike Audiences. That means translating your audience settings to look for new audiences that resemble the first.

What types of ads are available on Facebook? It will depend on the campaign’s objective. For example, if the objective of your campaign is awareness,  here are the available ad types:

Awareness objective

Awareness

Awareness

Awareness

Awareness

Facebook Feed
Single image/video, carousel, collection
Messenger inbox

Facebook Reels

Single image/video, carousel
Audience Network native, banner, and interstitial
Single image/video, carousel
Instagram Feed

Facebook groups feed

Single image/video, carousel
Facebook in-stream videos
Single image/video
Audience network rewarded videos

You can see the other available ads per objective in the Facebook documentation.

Facebook offers targeting according to certain criteria, like location, age, gender, and interests. Other networks offer complete profiling and targeting. When choosing an ad network, choose the one that offers you the most complete targeting options.

The more options you have, the better the ads will target the user and the more effective they will be. That’s why at CodeFuel, we have focused on displaying ads based on user intent.

User intent targeting

Do more split A/B testing

A/B testing is essential to creating a good advertising strategy that gets results. Advertisers should test two versions of the same ad with a single, small, quantifiable difference. Advertisers then measure which of both versions perform better. 

Publishers can also test which ads are performing better on their websites and refine their ad strategy.

Use native ads

Ad blockers can be an issue for many brands everywhere. Blockers supposedly intend to avoid ads interrupting and annoying users. 

You can solve this problem by opting for native ads. Since they integrate with the content, they don’t disrupt the user experience. Instead, they enhance it. 

Focusing on native ads will cause more clicks for your ads ad more conversions.

How Much Money Do Apps Make Per Ad?

The ad revenue for applications will depend on the industry and the type of ad. For instance, rewarded video ads pay in the U.S $0.02 per impression. Interstitial ads pay $0.16 for completion. Action games and gambling games tend to bring the most rewards per ad.

Digital Advertising Trends 2021

Last year, in 2020, the ad revenue of Google surpassed $146 billion. This includes the revenue from Google Ads. In fact, advertising is the majority of the company’s revenue, though most of it through search advertising.

Advertising revenue

Source

While Google accounts for more than 90% of all desktop search traffic, there is also a market for other browsers, especially Bing.

With that in mind, digital advertising marketing is booming and expected to grow even more in the following years. Here we present the top 3 trends that could drive the growth of digital advertising.

Featured snippets become more important

Snippets, those short pieces of text that appear on position zero of the page results —that means, on the top, before other results—, will become even more important next year. Search engines will prioritize content that can be included in a snippet. That contains useful information in a tight format and answers a query.

Why it matters for advertising? Because digital marketing companies will probably use those snippets as a short form of advertisement.

Promoting customer engagement through interactive content and ads

Interactive ads, such as gamified ads are gaining traction in the last year. Polls, giveaways, and contests drive customer engagement with a brand.

Why it matters for advertising? The more interesting and engaging an ad is for the user, the better the chances it will convert.

Influencer marketing

We already dedicated a section above about influencer marketing. The appearance of non-celebrity influencers is probably the strongest trend that will continue this year.

More companies are pairing with influencers to drive attention to their brands, and engage an audience of followers. When done right, influencer marketing provides potential customers with the social proof they need to convert.

Why it matters for advertising? Influencers reach the target audience directly, building trust. The ripple effect of brand recognition improves other marketing and advertising efforts.

Live Streaming sponsoring

Live streaming was one of the trends that accelerated during the pandemic. According to a survey by GlobalWebIndex at the end of 2020, 32% of YouTube users watched a live-streamed video in the previous month. This popularity opens an array of sponsorship opportunities for companies. Combined with influencer marketing, sponsoring live streams can complete a brand exposure effort.

That’s a Wrap!

Generating ad revenue for your website or application sometimes seems challenging. The general pay per ad is low and the requirements of traffic and content quality for sites and apps can be daunting. However, pairing with a monetization platform can give a headstart for publishers and app developers looking to monetize through advertising.

CodeFuel helps publishers and developers monetize their digital properties by improving the user experience. The platform engages users to publishers so they can find relevant ads that solve their queries.  You can learn more about how CodeFuel can help by contacting us.

FAQs

How much do interstitial ads pay?

Interstitial ads can bring more revenue to your app if implemented correctly—without interrupting the user experience. How much you earn will depend on the type of interstitial ads you use, for example, video or playable, and your target market. For Tier 1 markets, the eCPM rate ranges from $10 to $20. Other markets pay from $4 to $6.

Which bidding strategy should you use to increase revenue from your ad spend?

For advertisers, the best bidding option gives them the most return with the least ad spending, for example, by choosing a CTR strategy. If the network you use uses CPM, you can set a tCPM bidding strategy, where you set the average of how much you want to pay for a thousand impressions.

Your bidding strategy will also vary depending on your campaign goal, such as visibility or if you want to generate more clicks from mobile devices.

What are the Benefits and Disadvantages of earning Online Ad Revenue?

Incorporating ad revenue into your digital properties’ monetization has benefits and disadvantages:

Benefits

  • It is simple. Most networks have an easy sign-up process
  • Increases your brand visibility, when you offer them quality content and relevant ads.
  • Diversifies your online income sources

 Disadvantages

  • Ad revenue can fluctuate with the website traffic
  • The wrong ads may negatively affect the reputation of your site
  • Many times, publishers don’t have a lot of control over the ads that show on their pages.
Maximize Your Google AdSense Revenue in 2023: 10 Earning Tips To Increase your Profit

Maximize Your Google AdSense Revenue in 2023: 10 Earning Tips To Increase your Profit

Your website can generate money outside your core business. After all, your digital real estate is worth money. If you wonder how you make money from publishing ads on your site, this article is for you. At CodeFuel, we constantly innovate and bring solutions to increase revenue for publishers. This post will give you an overview and tactics to make money with Google AdSense. Let’s begin.

What is Google Adsense in short?

To put it simple, Google Adsense is an ad network that enables publishers to monetize their content by displaying ads. It works programmatically, which means the ads are automatically selected according to a bidding system.

How does Google Adsense Work?

Google AdSense is a Google product that enables publishers to earn money by displaying ads on their websites, blogs, or YouTube videos. You get paid by Google when a visitor clicks on the ad or based on ad impressions, according to the type of ad.

The advertisements can be text, images, video, or interactive media. These ads are selected by an automated ad auction system. The auction selects the highest bidder among bidding users of Google AdWords.

Google selects the ads for your site by using different types of targeting:

  • Contextual targeting – they analyze the keywords used, the word frequency, and link structure to determine the webpage context and match the ads to it.
  • Placement targeting – this allows advertisers to choose where they want their ad to appear. These ads are selected by advertisers who think your site can be a match for their target audience.
  • Personalized targeting – advertisers can select sites that cater to a specific category, for example (musical theater lovers).
  • Run of Network targeting – this selection includes all sites in the AdSense network, but the explicitly excluded sites.

How Google Adsense Work

(Google)

Why does Google use an auction to select the ads? 

Advertisers on the Google Display Network bid to show their ads on AdSense. The ad auction ranks advertisers according to the bid and their Quality Score. Therefore, you get the advertisers who are willing to pay the most and have good quality.

Learn more about how Google AdSense works in this video:

How to Build a Passive Income Stream with Google AdSense

If you have a website with regular traffic, you can create passive income by selling ad space through AdSense. You don’t need to create a product or contact buyers directly because AdSense matches ads to your site based on its content and audience. 

AdSense in four simple steps:

  1. You sign up for Google AdSense and create an account.
  2. You make your spaces available by adding the code to your website or YouTube video. Advertisers bid to display their ads on your digital property via a real-time auction.
  3. The highest paying ad wins the bid and displays on the selected space on your website.
  4. You get paid for the ad clicks or impressions your website visitors generate.

Why is Google AdSense a good way to earn passive income? 

  • You leverage your existing website or YouTube channel
  • You don’t need to create ads or promote anything yourself.
  • The earnings will keep coming as long as you keep creating great content and driving traffic to your site

The average CPC in Google Ads is between $1 and $2. So, let’s calculate: 

Let’s say you have three ads displayed on your site: 

Ad A got 500 clicks = 500 * $1.5 =  750

Ad B got 1000 clicks – 1000 * $1.5 = 1500

Ad C got 250 clicks – 250 * $1.5 = 375

This is the amount the advertisers pay Google over the clicks.

From that amount, the publisher keeps a 68% according to Google. 

So let’s do the math:

  • 750 *68% =     510 +
  • 1500 *68% = 1020
  • 375 *68% =     255/1785

Are There Any Requirements for an AdSense Account? How do I apply? 

Google selects the sites that qualify for an AdSense account according to 12 eligibility criteria about you and your site:

You: 

  1. You must be over 18 years of age
  2. You must be the owner of your site and control it.
  3. You can’t use means that generate fake traffic

Your site:

  1. The content on your site must be unique and interesting
  2. The content must comply with Google Content Policies 
  3. If your site is inside a host partner, like Blogger or YouTube, you can apply for Google AdSense, but there are other eligibility criteria you need to meet.
  4.  The site must have clear navigation
  5. You cannot publish plagiarized content
  6. Your site should be at least six months old
  7. You need enough traffic.
  8. A site with a history of abusive experiences (fake messages, misleading practices) cannot apply.

Does it take long to get approved?

The time it takes for an account to be approved varies. Some sites get approved in 24 hours while others may take up to two weeks for approval.

  • The first thing you need to do is to verify your Google Account and your website ownership.
  • Please take in mind to fix any issues your site may have about the content, navigation, SEO, or traffic before you send your application. 

Types of Adsense ads

What types of ads are right for your site? Google AdSense provides a variety of ad types for you to choose from: 

1. Text ads

These are the ads in the form of simple text that often appear when you are searching for something in Google. They have a title, a short description, and a link going to the site. These ads can appear on your website or in Google searches.

For example, a search for women’s boots showed me two text ads from online retailers:  

Text ads

2. Display ads

These are the ads that you see typically displayed on web pages. Here are the basic three formats:

Horizontal

Display ads - Horizontal

Banner

adsense banner example

Vertical

Skyscraper

Skyscraper

Wide skyscraper

Wide skyscraper

Square

  • 250×250

Square -250

Small square (200 x 200) 

Small square (200 x 200)

4. Rich Media Ads

These interactive advertisements can be in image format, video or Html. There are three types of ads:

Dynamic image ads

These consist of animated text that appears when the user scrolls down the page. You can choose the size and type: vertical, horizontal, and square.

Video ads

This type of ads are presented by Google in several ad types:

Standard: non-skippable ads up to 20 seconds. This can appear in pre-roll, midroll, and post-roll slots.

Video ads

TrueView:  these ads let the user skip the video after 5 seconds. They can appear in the preroll and mid-roll positions, but require compliance to additional policies.

Creating Your First Ad Unit

What’s an Ad unit? One or more Google ads are the result of one piece of the AdSense ad code. Users can create, manage, and customize the ad units on their AdSense account. There are different types of ad units: 

  • Display ads – responsive and customizable.
  • In-feed – native ads that show inside a feed.
  • In – article – native ads that present between sections of an article.
  • Matched content  – ads that promote the content to visitors.
  • Link – presents relevant links that complement the content of the page.

So, how do you create your first ad unit? Let’s see

First, you need to sign in to your AdSense account and go to the Ads page. From your overview page, select the option by ad unit and Display ads. Give your unit a name so you can find it later.

You can select several options for your ad unit:

  • You can select the size
  • You can select if you want it to be responsive (we recommend you do!)

Once you save, you will get the code to copy and paste in the tags of your pages. If you are not sure how to do this, check Google’s code implementation guide. Click Done, and in a few minutes the ads will be on the page.

How to Earn Money From Google Ads?

Learning to make money advertising with Google Adsense may seem a challenge for beginners. You can display Google Ads on your website or your YouTube channel.

Here is a list of the top 10 tips to make money with AdSense:

  • Your website’s focus shouldn’t be on the ads. Ensure your website enhances the user experience and doesn’t look like you made it for AdSense. Of course, you want to monetize your website. But if you focus on delivering great content, the ads will add value to the site instead of cluttering it.
    • Improve your site’s loading time. Faster websites increase conversions. Several methods to optimize your site include reducing the number of images, optimizing the size and format, optimizing the cache, and reducing HTTP requests.
    • Be consistent when publishing content. While the frequency of your publishing will depend on the type of your website, you must publish consistently. Publishing new content attracts more visits to your website, which can translate into more AdSense clicks.
    • Choose the ad placement wisely. Where you place the ads can make all the difference in clicks and earnings. While it is better to have the ads above the fold, you should be careful not to clutter the space with too many ads. Google is punishing websites that show too many ads above the fold.
    • Use responsive ads First, it is better if you have a responsive website. That way your visitors can find you on desktop and on mobile. Once you made your website responsive, you can add Responsive AdSense units. With Responsive AdSense units, AdSense will serve the ad that best fits the available ad space in size and type.
    • Not all niches pay the same. Some industries will pay more for their ads than others. When you monetize with AdSense, there are two key factors to consider: the level of competition in your desired niche and how much you can earn from it. Big niches such as consumer goods, insurance, and finance compete hard. Some niches, such as Beauty, Health, Fashion, and Hobbies, offer innumerable smaller niches that can be profitable.
    • Standardize your ad sizes. When you set up the ads, you should use the sizes AdSense recommends as the most popular. The 728×90, 336 x280, and 300 x250 sizes have more demand.
    • A/B Test the ads. AdSense Experiment is a feature where you can test different versions of the same ad and check its performance. You may test different borders, colors, and formats. After a few days, you can see which one performed better.
    • Improve your AdSense Referrers. When you enter your Google Analytics account, you can check which referrers are generating AdSense revenue and invest more marketing efforts in them. For instance, you can get visitors from social media platforms to your website.
    • Follow the AdSense guidelines. Whatever you do to increase your AdSense earnings, don’t violate any AdSense guidelines. The full guidelines are here, but some highlights may include buying clicks or traffic, hiding ads, or inappropriate content surrounding the ads.

    What kind of websites work better for displaying Google Ads? 

    According to Google: blogs, news sites, forums and niche social networks, are the best options. Your website should comply with Google AdSense guidelines about appropriate content and traffic. While there is no minimum traffic threshold you need to meet, if you want to make money, you need decent traffic.

    Using different ad formats is also important if you want to keep the attention of your visitors. If you have a YouTube channel, you can also leverage ads and monetize your videos.

    How Much Can You Earn by Using AdSense?

    It depends on the competition and Cost per Click (CPC) of your niche. Google pays you per every click on your ads, but it takes a commission.

    Generally speaking, publishers get 68%, or 51% when using AdSense for reach. Depending on the niche, the commission can go from $0.20 to $15, with an average of $3 per click for publishers.

    Here are the most profitable niches in the US for 2021

    Best Adsense Niche
    Insurance
    Online Education
    Marketing and Advertising
    Attorney
    Internet and telecommunication
    Cost per Click (in US)
    $16
    $12.08
    $6.45
    $6.11
    $4.96

    Sources: SEMRUSH, Ahref. 

    How do you get paid? 

    Once you get your AdSense account and your ad units up and running, you should start getting payments from Google every month. Google pays you every month your earnings reach or are over $100. The company pays you directly, depositing to your bank account or via check (where available).

    What happens if you don’t reach $100 in earnings one month? The earnings accumulate until you do.

    How to check Adsense earnings? 

    Where can you see how much did you earn with AdSense? You can see the earnings in your homepage of your account. AdSense displays estimated earnings and finalized earnings.

    Let’s explain the terms: 

    • Estimated earnings: a ballpark idea of how much you’ll be going to earn according to your account activity this month so far.
    • Balance: Your earnings that have not yet been paid and it also shows the most recent payment.
    • Transactions: Here you can find the finalized earnings, what you will actually receive.

    Keep in mind YouTube earnings have a different homepage. Here is how to see the earnings of your YouTube channel:

    • Go to YouTube analytics
    •  Check the revenue tab

    The key metrics card shows the estimated revenue. You can also see which videos are performing well and earning more money.

    How Much Does Adsense Pay Per 1000 Views or Visitors?

    This will hugely depend on your niche, and your content. As a range, Google AdSense pays from $0.2 to $0.25 per pageviews.

    Here are some examples of earnings on sites targeting North America (Tier 1):

    Category
    Finance
    Home and Garden
    Health
    Food and Drink
    Beauty and Fitness
    Payout per 1000 pageviews
    $32.13
    $23.35
    $17.40
    $14.33
    $13.01

    How much do you earn will depend of your zone, (Tier1 websites earn more than others), and your site’s category. Check the AdSense calculator to know more. 

    The average Cost per Mille that you receive from your content can be $4 to $6 per 1000 views in developing countries.

    Pros and Cons of Monetizing with Google AdSense 

    Pros
    It’s free.
    You don’t need to create your ads, Google does it for you.
    You can monetize multiple sites from a single account.
    It is technically passive income, so in theory, you don’t need to put on a lot of effort.
    Cons
    You need to earn at least $100 to get paid.
    You cannot use another ad network if you are using AdSense.
    You can get your account blocked for policy violations.
    It requires a lot of traffic to make a reasonable amount of money.
    Too many ads may annoy your visitors.

    9 Tips for Making Money With Adsense (And What Not to Do!)

    Having steady earnings with AdSense requires a strategy and following the rules. Whether you are new or already have an account and want to increase your AdSense Ad Revenue, here’s what you should and shouldn’t do when monetizing your site with AdSense: 

    • Follow Google policies: read and follow the Google Publisher policies, AdSense program policies, as well as webmaster policies.
    • Don’t click on your own ads
    • Don’t pay per click: giving incentives for clicks, buying Pay Per Click (PPC) space or any other way to give rewards for clicks is against Google policies.
    • Provide valuable content: giving your target audience content they want to read ultimately leads to them clicking on the ads and making money.
    • Build organic traffic: optimize for SEO, optimize the content to attract organic traffic.
    • Make sure your site is responsive: let your target find you where they are.
    • Optimize the layout and format of the ad: having ads above the fold test ad types and placement, have a leaderboard ad next to your logo.
    • Use in-content ads: native ads that blend with the content has a higher chance to be seen and clicked on.
    • Monitor, analyze, refine: check your results and tweak your strategy accordingly.

    Alternatives to AdSense – Other Ad Network Programs

    Although AdSense can be a great option to monetize your site, it is not the only way. In fact, there may be other monetization alternatives that are better for your site:

    • CodeFuelour complete platform increases your revenue by engaging searches, text ads, shopping ads, and news on your website, blog, or search page.
    • Affiliate Marketing – these kinds of programs work when someone clicks on a link on your page. They are usually free to add to your website.
    • Sponsors – to attract sponsors, you need to have a decent amount of traffic and influence with your audience. You can get your entire site or a single page sponsored.
    • Sell your product or service – you can always sell your product, merchandise services.

    Mind-blowing Google Advertising Stats

    Which ad sizes are the most popular in Google AdSense? 

    Ad Sizes
    160 x 600
    468 x 60
    336 x280
    300 x 250
    728x 90
    % of publishers
    11
    11
    18
    24
    36

    It’s a Wrap!

    Well, that was a handle!. As you can see from this guide, there are many ways to earn income from a website, both with AdSense and with alternative sources. Keep in mind that most income sources require two key factors: great content and enough traffic to make money. This is where CodeFuel is a good option to monetize your site. 

    CodeFuel offers a complete solution to monetize your content, presenting relevant ads in searches, pages, and blogs. The ads increase user engagement and provide a great user experience to your audience. 

    Learn more about how to monetize your site with CodeFuel.

    FAQs

    How much does Google Adsense pay per pageview?

    The rate you’ll get from Google AdSense, will depend on the zone your website is registered, where your traffic comes from and your content category. The range can go from $0.2 to $0.25 per pageview. Tier 1 zone websites — with traffic coming from North America, Europe and developed countries—, get a better payout than countries in development.  How does Google Adsense pay in India? 

    With a decent amount of traffic, you can expect 800INR per 1000 pageviews on average. It will depend on your niche. Let’s have an example with 50,000 views per month in a food and beverage category. 

    Amount of pageviews/month= 50,000

    Annual estimated earnings = $7044

    How to earn money from Google Adsense without a website?

    Websites are not the only thing you can monetize with AdSense. You can also monetize a YouTube channel and incorporate ads to your videos. 

    How long does it take to get your AdSense Account Approved?

    It usually takes a few days but it can take up to 4 weeks. AdSense send you an email when the account is fully activated. 

    How Much You Can Earn With Google AdSense?

    This will depend on your traffic and niche, but generally speaking, publishers get 68% of each click. If using AdSense for reach, you get 51% .

    Ad Placement: How To Improve Results for Publishers

    Ad Placement: How To Improve Results for Publishers

    If you are looking to improve your monetization results, it is time to look at ad placement. Here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide to help your company understand what is ad placement, why it is important and how you can use it to get results for your website. Let’s start.

    What Is Ad Placement? 

    Ad Placement

    In its simplest definition, ad placement means the group of ad units that specify the areas on the website where advertisers can place their ads. Ad placement criteria include the size, type, and location of the ads. For example, you can find ad placements noted like this: 

    • 728×90 (size in pixels) – above main content (location) 
    • 300×250 (size in pixels) – in-feed (location)

    Each ad network has its own placement criteria. Some offer automatically created placements, others allow publishers to define their own placement criteria.

    Types of Ads and Placements

    Before going to explore the best ad placements, let’s review the basics of ad types. 

    Ads come in several sizes and formats, from full page to small squares. Here are the most common:

    Full page

    The image below shows the layout chosen by a specific publisher. At the sides, you can see a full page space for placing ads. Full-page ads go above and below the fold, and there are among the most expensive ad types. 

    Full page Ad placement

    Image source

    Half-page

    Half-page Ad

    Image source

    Half-page ads are usually expensive due to the large space they take. They are used by publications to show sponsors. See this example on the Forbes website:

    Forbes half-page Ad placement

    Credit: Forbes.com

    Here, the large ad pops when you start consuming the content relevant to the ad. Sometimes large ads can be effective on social media platforms, like this on YouTube.  

    Youtube half-page ads

    Image source

    Banner ads

    These are the ads you can see usually displayed on web pages. They often appear in the side, top, or bottom sections of websites. Publishers broker their ad space with ad networks or you can buy the ad space as you’ll do in a newspaper. 

    They can be horizontal:

    Horizontal Banner Ad

    Or vertical, that is also called a skyscraper:

    Vertical Banner Ads

    Large square

    These are usually found at the sides of SERP or website pages: 

    Large square banner Ads

    Image Source

    Small Square

    These small 200×200 pixels can help your audience remember a product related to previous searches or relevant to the content: 

    Small sqaure ads

    They are often found at the sides or also below the fold.

    Ad Layout and Placement

    Well, now that we explained ad types, it is time we talk about ad layout or ad placement

    There are two key terms you need to know when considering where to place your ads: above the fold and below the fold. 

    Ad layout and ad placement

    Image source

    Above the Fold (AF)

    This is the part of the webpage that is first displayed to the viewer, without the need to scroll down. Since this part of the page is what the user sees right away, is considered one of the most expensive ad spaces.

    Above the fold Ad placement example

    • Another example of above the fold placement:

    Above the fold ad placement

    Below the fold (BF)

    Placing ads below the fold may seem unproductive, but in reality, it can be a cost-effective way to catch your user’s attention. As the viewer consumes the content, you can place the ads to complement it based on previous searches. Here’s an example: 

    Below the fold Ad placement example

    Video ads

    Studies show that three quarters of consumers prefer video to static ads. Video advertising involves creating short videos promoting a product or service, played on a website, inside an application, or before, during or after a main video. Audiovisual pieces help tell a story better, improve conversions, and expand the reach. 

    Most platforms play videos automatically when different percentages of the video are visible on screen. Amazon, for example, requires the video to be 50% visible on the screen before playing it. For Google platforms, the video ad is considered viewable when 50% of the ad is visible on the screen.

    What makes a great video ad campaign?
    It catches the viewer's attention in the first few seconds
    It has an emotional component
    It is tailored specifically for the audience
    It has a clear call to action

    Take, for example, this campaign encouraging people to visit Iceland: 

    This campaign uses humor to advertise the natural beauty of Iceland. The results are clear, in its first week was viewed by more than 6 million people.

    Social media ads

    Advertising in social media has the advantage of being a direct way to reach the target audience. All social networks offer ad placements. Every social media platform has their own ad requirements and offers. 

    Which one should you use? It depends on where does your target group hangs out. 

    If your target is teenagers, TikTok is a sure bet. If 40 something, Facebook is where to find them. Let’s review a couple of examples: 

    Facebook 

    • Three different types of campaigns: awareness, consideration or conversion.
    • The platform offers detailed targeting options
    • If placing video ads, Facebook allows to place video ads inside other videos
    • Facebook stories ads are a great format for limited time offers
    • Photo, video, carousel, stories, playable ad types
    • Since Facebook owns Instagram, the categories on it are similar.

    Instagram 

    • Same ad categories as Facebook
    • Audience: Millennials and Generation Z
    • Custom targeting options
    • Photo, video, carousel, reel, stories and collection ad types.

    Social media Ads Source: Instagram

    What is Meta ad placement? 

    Since Facebook is now Meta, their ad placement rules changed a bit. 

    Here is an overview:

    • Ads can appear on the Facebook or Instagram feed, in Facebook marketplace or video feeds. The ads can also appear in the right column of desktop Facebook.
    • When someone taps on a business post header, the ad may appear on Facebook Business Explore.
    • Similarly, ads can be placed on Instagram Explore

    Learn more on the Meta Business Help Center

    Why Is Ad Placement Important?

    When planning an online campaign, advertisers usually focus on how captivating and catchy the ad is, but where the ad will be displayed is as much important. After all, the ad can be great, but if it is not in the right place, chances are your audience won’t see it. Ad placement can effectively make or break a campaign. 

    For publishers, designing your website to position your available ad space right, is even more important than choosing the size of the ads. Your site should offer spaces that are attractive to advertisers. If your ad space is hidden below the fold or tucked in a corner of the page, advertisers will not bid for your space. 

    Therefore, above the fold, or positions that require minimal scrolling are the best.

    Even more important, if viewers cannot easily access the ads on your site, this can bring down your Click-Through-Rate, affecting your monetization income.

    What is Click-Through-Rate (CTR) and why it is critical for a publishing website? 

    Click-Through-Rate calculates how many people actually click on your ad (clicks) per the number of people that view the ad (impressions).

    This is the formula:

    CTR = (Total clicks on Ad) / (Total Impressions) 

    CTR is critical for publishers because a higher click on your ad means it is performing well and appealing to the advertiser’s audience. This can establish your position as a publisher and earn you better advertising bids. 

    One of the ways you can increase the CTR for your ads is by using display ads on your page. Here are some reasons display ads can help increase CTR:

    • They include images and media- being more catchy and attractive for viewers.
    • They boost brand awareness– helping the audience to familiarize themselves with the advertiser’s brand.
    • They are less expensive than traditional advertising.

    How Do You Find the Best Ad Placement on Your Website? 

    Finding the best place for ads on your website requires to know well two key factors: your website and your audience. You need to find where your viewers like to hang out on your website, check the number of visitors and where they come from.

    1. Prepare the tools

    You will need some basic tools to work with:

    Analytics or SEO tool: to monitor and analyze the traffic and audience. The analytics can tell you where your traffic is coming from, what devices your visitors use most, demographics, and similar data. 

    Heatmap: heatmaps became really popular in recent years as a way to detect which parts of the website are the most attractive for viewers. Heatmaps collect the data from a webpage displaying which content of the web page is clicked more or gets more attention. Heatmaps can tell you on which areas of your page where viewers clicked the most, and how far the viewers scroll down. For example, see this heatmap of a Facebook page: 

    Heatmap

    Image source

    Ad Manager: An ad management tool can help track how much exactly you are earning on your inventory. You can know how much each ad size or type makes.

    2. Understand your audience

    Once you have your tools ready, start by analyzing your audience. Use analytics to understand which country your traffic is coming from. So you can explore what ad placement is popular with advertisers in the most popular areas and focus your ad placement on that.[ADD GOOGLE ANALYTICS SCREENSHOT] This can also help you discard which pages are getting less traffic and improve them.

    3. Check ad viewability

    Viewability rate checks how many of the ads on your website get viewed. Placing ads on a website doesn’t mean your audience is actually going to see them. Publishers that have a high viewability score are considered to have high-value inventory. These high-level publishers usually get higher bids from advertisers because their ads will be seen. 

    How do you measure ad viewability? Google considers as viewable a display ad that is on view for at least a second (even if they are 50% in view). The same about video ads, but it requires two seconds to be considered as viewable. These are the “Active Views” you see in the analytics. 

    How do you improve ad viewability?

    • Test ad layouts, sizes, and placements.
    • Check your page load speed.
    • Optimize your site for mobile.
    • Test how the ads work on different channels.

      4. Evaluate past ads performance

      Start with what you have. Review the performance of the existing placements in terms of viewability, CTR, and revenue generation. Keep what is working and rework what is not. Use the findings as a base for further testing.

      5. Keep testing

      Try different layouts, above/below the fold. Experiment with A/B testing. Try different types of ads, display, rich media, video until you find which combination works better for the highest engagement according to the heatmap.

      6. Let Our Experts Help You With The Process

      All these trying and experimenting can be time-consuming and overwhelming when doing it yourself. Using the help of experts like CodeFuel can save you time and money by automatically choosing the best placement for display ads. 

      – Do you need any help? Our monetization experts are happy to help.

    How Do You Find the Best Ad Placement on Your App? 

    One of the most popular app monetization strategies is In-App advertising. Unlike mobile web as these ads appear when a person is using the app. You can place display ads, banners, or video ads. 

    Whatever type of ad you want to display, first you should optimize your app for ad placement. Think about monetization right from the start. When designing your app, think about what monetization model you will choose. If you’ll include in-app advertising, show it in the interface. There are two main criteria for in-app advertising optimization: 

    Optimize for viewability: When choosing the ad format to display on your app, take into account the size of the ad vs the size of the screen. Small banner ads are likely to be too small for a user to view. 

    When designing the UX of your app, think about where the ads have a greater chance to be viewed. 

    Ad placement in App

    Image Source

    Optimizing for Revenue: That means, optimizing to get as many clicks as possible. 

    Check your revenue model first, and classify the ads according to how the advertisers pay – per click, per conversion, or impression. Many advertisers pay per click. 

    You can learn more about models in our guide to monetization metrics: What Is and How to Increase Your Page RPM?

    How Advertisers Decide Where to Place Ads

    Advertisers want to place ads on websites where they can get good returns for their money. Therefore, there are a few factors they consider when choosing where to place an ad:

    The target market
    The medium
    The ROI
    Companies want to advertise as close as possible to their target market. If your website delivers content to and has a lot of traffic from a company’s target audience, you’ll attract companies in the industry that want to advertise with you.
    Again, it is all depending on the target user. If a company’s target users consume the products/services via mobile, then in-app advertising can be the solution. If through a website or via search, then search ads and display ads can be a way to attract these companies.
    Advertising can be pretty costly so advertisers will look for the option that gives them the best ROI. Online advertising is more cost-effective than traditional advertising. Instead of investing in traditional advertising, a company can buy two banners for a year, on a website with good traffic and CTR and maximize its exposure and conversions.

    How Does it Work When Working With an Ad Network? 

    Companies that use Google AdSense and other ad networks like CodeFuel, don’t have to worry about choosing the ads manually. Monetization networks match advertisers with publishers, choosing the best websites for the companies and the most relevant ads for the websites

    You can learn more about monetization with AdSense in our guide: How to Make Money with Google AdSense

    How to Make the Most of Ad Placement on Your Website?

    Consider your visitors’ user experience. Think about what the user is trying to do by visiting your site. Use the heatmaps to discover the customer journey, what does the user do when is visiting a particular page, where they focus their attention.

    Once you define the area that catches most of the attention of visitors, think about how you can incorporate ads on this area without disrupting the user experience. The key here is to think like a user.

    The ads should be easy to identify as such. Avoid misleading users with images and content that make it difficult to tell if it’s an ad or not. Label ads properly.

    Keep your site looking clean and not ad-cluttered. Sometimes less is more with ads. Take into account balancing the size and quantity of the ads.

    Look at your site for user experience. Check if your content provides value, if it is easy to find. Evaluate if your content is easy to differentiate from your ads or sponsored content.

    What is An Example Of A Managed Placement?

    A managed placement is a type of ad placement that can give advertisers a bit more control. The advertiser can define the placement criteria for their ads based on relevancy to their business. For instance, an advertiser may determine the ad can appear on “Display Network Only“ campaigns, “Search Network with Display Select” campaigns or “Video” campaigns.

    An example of a poorly managed placement would involve inserting an ad for candies in a health blog talking about the dangers of sugar consumption.

    Advertisers can ensure this won’t happen by optimizing placements not only by keywords, but also by using contextual ads. Contextual ads take into account the relevancy of the whole content where the ad is placed.

    Tips for Ad Placements to Get Results

    Multisize ads placements

    Leverage multiples ad sizes to maximize returns on your pages. Different types of advertisers require different formats. Add video, rich media, display and in-feed ads so you can offer a mix that can work for several advertisers.

    Sticky ads

    These clever ads stay afloat when a user is viewing your webpage. They have the advantage of increasing ad viewability, resulting in a higher yield. However, not all networks allow sticky ads.

    Ad refresh

    These ads generate more revenue by refreshing ads on a page as long as the users are active, based on triggers. This increases the number of impressions and the chance of the viewer clicking through the ad.

    Lazy loading

    This feature enables ads to serve only when after a certain trigger, for example, when scrolling down. This makes the website easier to load, enhancing the user experience.

    Let CodeFuel Experts Place The Ads For You

    To get the most of your ad placement, you can follow the tips we presented in this article. However, this requires a bit of time and skill. Moreover, you have to analyze and research your user intent for every campaign. Here is where an intent-based ad solution like CodeFuel comes to help.  You can enrich your website with display ads, text ads, and news that are specifically relevant to your audience, and match its intent every time. Learn more about how high-intent ads result on high-intent visitors. Contact us.

    11 Trends that Will Shape the Future of E-commerce in 2025

    11 Trends that Will Shape the Future of E-commerce in 2025

    2020 accelerated the pace of e-commerce by leaps and bounds. Trends like personalization and customer experience are shaping the way companies, and customers connect. According to Statista, retail e-commerce sales increased by over a billion $ from 2019 to 2020 and are expected to grow almost another billion by 2021. Sales will continue to grow, reaching over $6.5 billion by 2023.

    Retail e-Commerce sales worldwide

    Source

    Ecommerce is a huge and extremely competitive industry. Therefore, you need to continually monitor the trends to be ahead of the competition. At CodeFuel, we collected the top e-commerce trends you need to know in 2025.

    What Do You Need in [year] To Ride the E-commerce Wave

    1.AR Will Become a Standard for Online Shopping

    What once was a “nice to have” feature is now common in more online stores. AR is changing the online shopping experience because it reduces the uncertainty of not being able to try on the product. For instance, companies like IKEA allow customers to overlay their products in any room in the customer’s house.

    ikea-place

    By giving customers a feel, they can now see how they would look with that shirt or how the coffee table would look in their living room. AR usage in e-commerce sites has grown by 2020 and is expected to continue growing by 2021.

    2.Personalization and Customer Experience

    Personalizing as much as possible the customer experience is the key to win the new e-commerce game in 2025. People value and remember good customer experiences.

    Implementing on-site personalization can increase revenue and reduce bounce rates. Strategies such as serving the customer in the preferred channel, using AI-powered tools to present personalized ads can increase engagement and conversions.

    However, companies should be careful with personalization efforts so as not to impact customer’s data privacy.

    “Customer concerns about the security and privacy of their online data can impede personalized marketing at scale. Best-practice companies are building protections into their digital properties.” McKinsey.

     

    3.Conversational Technology Continues to Grow

    Research company Gartner project that the adoption of conversational AI will grow more than 100% by 2025. Consumers are increasingly using voice technology (Alexa, Google Home) for search and shop. Features like Alexa Voice Shopping let you order and complete purchases with voice commands.
    Let’s say you run out of eggs, or napkins, or want to order takeout, you can tell your voice assistant. The device keeps your payment details and even remembers past purchases.

    AI-powered chatbots are another trend that is here to stay. Now the chatbot can talk to you in a natural, humanized way and take your previous search history with the company to adjust recommendations and answers.

    4.AI-Powered Solutions Help Learn About Shoppers

    The more you know about your customers, the better you can serve them. Understanding customer behavior lets you provide personalized recommendations and suggestions. Just like a helpful store assistant.

    AI helps businesses learn about their customers’ preferences and purchasing behaviors, giving them personalized customer experiences. An example is Diageo’s Bulleit brand of bourbon whiskey. The company used social listening technology to discover a niche in bartenders struggling with wasted skills when the bars are closed.

    AI-powered analytic tools can help your company forecast customer demand and prepare for peak times. AI also improves the shopping experience for customers by matching previous customer information and giving real-time recommendations.

    5.More Video Content

    While we talk about video, consumers are spending more time every day watching online videos. A global forecast estimates that the average person will watch 100 minutes of online video by 2021.

    According to PWC, mobile video advertising is expected to grow more than non-mobile video advertising in the next four years.

    US Advertising media size
    Global e-Commerce payment methods

    Source

    6.Headless E-Commerce.

    Implementing headless e-commerce can improve your company’s ability to adapt to changes. Headless architecture allows website owners to make adjustments in the front-end without having to carry the same changes to the back-end. Companies like Herschel, Gibson, Michael Kors, and Best Buy made the switch to headless architecture.

    headless website architecture

    Source: Herschel

    Benefits of headless architecture:

    • Quick actualization of the front end – when you introduce new content, you can instantly see the changes.
    • Better user experience – headless commerce is compatible across devices and viewing formats. This provides a better alternative to traditional responsive design.

    7.Online Sales Will Continue Growing and With it the Competition

    The growth of online commerce seems unstoppable. Statistics show that the e-commerce market grew the equivalent of 10 years in 3 months.

    US eCommerce penetration

    Source: McKinsey

    Due to COVID-19 restrictions, online shopping has become the new normal for most consumers. With stores shutting because of lockdowns, consumers are resorting to online shopping for purchases.

    The reason? Online shopping provides a safe, comfortable and
    convenient way to shop from home or on the phone.

    Experts predict this change is here to stay, even in a post-pandemic market. That is because online shopping gives consumers a quick and contactless way to purchase.

    “We saw that consumers immediately shifted their online buying habits with roughly 75% of our consumers at eBay buying more items online,” explains Scott Kelliher, Head of Brand Ads and Partnerships at eBay. “Almost 85% of them plan to keep this new higher level of e-commerce spends for the foreseeable future.”

    8.Mobile Shopping Will Grow Strong

    It’s a fact that most consumers spend a lot of time daily on their phones. Then, using the phone to make purchases just seems natural. Buying from your phone provides the ultimate convenience when doing it right. An intuitive interface and easy checkout are critical.

    Platforms like Facebook (and Instagram) take advantage of these opportunities offering features such as Facebook and IG Shops and in-ad purchases for SMEs to grow their businesses. No surprise, then, that the m-commerce volume will continue to grow over the next few years.

    us m-commerce volume

    10. Increasing Costs of Acquisition Makes Retention More Important Than Ever

    Although the number of online shoppers is increasing, acquiring a customer will be more expensive in 2025. At the end of 2020, we saw digital marketers investing heavily in paid search, and an increase in search shopping ads.

    US search ad spending

    Source

    Costs of online advertising will only grow as online shopping expands to social media shopping. Therefore, companies will need to come up with creative advertising strategies to reach more shoppers while keeping costs under control.

    One result of this trend can be a focus on retention strategies and conversion optimization. As competition grows, it is more important than ever to catch and retain customers’ attention via shopping ads that answer your customers’ queries while they are looking.

    11. Social Media Purchases Will Grow

    2025 brought new e-commerce features for social media channels. Facebook and Instagram added Shops, and in-ad purchases, intending to boost online shopping in their channels. As small businesses were one of the most impacted by lockdowns, Facebook launched a platform for business, adding tools and features to help SME to reach customers through social media.

    Customers are carrying on more activities in social media than scrolling down cute videos. According to Statista: ”As of April 2020, 37 percent of U.S. internet users between the ages of 18 to 34 years reported they had purchased something via social media before but did not do so regularly”.

    Social media platforms and e-commerce companies are tapping into this window of opportunity. TikTok, for instance, after its exponential growth last year, announced it is testing a feature that will enable users to add shoppable links in their videos. Instagram did something similar in 2020 by adding shoppable IGTV videos.

    How Do You Know If a Trend is Right for Your Business?

    All the trends mentioned before may seem overwhelming. How do you know which one can be right for your company? Here some pointers to get you started:

    • Pay attention to industry influencers and news: check what is trendy with influencers in your industry, so you can relate to them, and keep current on industry news to be up to date with trends.
    • Use digital tools and analytics to understand your customer’s behavior: many of the current trends depend on how well you can understand your customers and answer to their needs. Use data analytics tools to understand what they are shopping for, where, and when.
    • Check out your competitors: this may be useful to adapt your strategy. Is your competitor doing something that works? Maybe you can use this strategy for your audience? It is worth a try to check them out.
    • Ask your customers: nothing really tops knowing from first hand what your customers think. Use post-purchase surveys, quick polls, and reviews.

    What’s Next?

    Now that you know the top trends that will shape the e-commerce industry this year, it is time to apply some following recommendations for your company: 

    • Optimize your digital strategy to convert and retain customers.
    • Use digital tools to refine your reach.
    • Prioritize giving a great user experience with personalized content.

    CodeFuel solutions enable publishers to increase their ROI through search monetization solutions that optimize search traffic, engage users, and boost revenue.

    How CodeFuel Can Help

    CodeFuel solutions enable publishers to increase their ROI through search monetization solutions that optimize search traffic, engage users, and boost revenue. 

    Our engagement and monetization solutions help publishers by bringing together engagement and monetization, we leverage the searcher’s intent to increase conversions. 

    How do we do it?  

    • Deliver relevant ads to targeted audiences on apps, websites, extensions, and more.
    • Leverage searcher intent, through presenting the right ad at the right moment
    • Engage users through enriching publisher’s assets with shopping offers and news, across devices, increasing exposure. 

    When you bring ads that are relevant to the searcher, it helps strengthen the connection of the user to the publisher, which becomes a trusted source. As a result, CodeFuel solutions bring value and optimize conversions both for publishers and advertisers by giving a great user experience to the consumer. 

    At CodeFuel, we are continually seeking innovative ways to generate revenue for our publishers and media buyers. Start engaging users and monetizing content with CodeFuel contact us today! 

    Enhance Your Visitors’ Experience With Premium News

    Enhance Your Visitors’ Experience With Premium News

    The COVID-19 pandemic had people around the world consuming more media than ever. According to a global survey published by Statista, 67% of respondents worldwide admitted following the news more than before. People want to keep on top of the latest developments and as a result, media consumption, including reading newspapers and magazines, is on the rise.

    But even without having a pandemic around, people consume news for a variety of reasons. They want to understand the conflicting information they are constantly bombarded with, they want information put into context, and they want to know if current events may have implications on their lives. 

    Digital publishers can answer this demand by providing visitors with quality news right on their website or extension. Read on for a primer on how to leverage the power of premium news without the hassle and expense of having to set the service up from scratch.

    Where Do People Get Their News Nowadays?

    News sources transformed with the times. Printed newspapers and magazines gave way to laptops, mobile phones, and smart devices. New devices and more connectivity shifted the user’s preference to online sources. In the United States, as much as 81% of people look online for news.

    Users get their news nowadays through secondary sources that take visitors to primary news sources. Examples of secondary sources include:

    Search engines

    They are the first place a user goes when looking for news, so search engines are critical in sourcing news content. A good news section on a search results page (SERP) should include news articles grouped according to topic, showing the latest on the top, instead of relying on SEO. 

    Social media

    Most internet users see the breaking stories on their social media feed. The convenience of finding the news in one place increases the user’s engagement for the social media channel.

    Websites and Browser extensions newsfeeds

    Users prefer convenience, and having the news right there on their favorite website or browser extension is a plus. They are more likely to go back to these pages and consume more content and services while they are there. This is why more companies offer curated news on their sites to increase their reach and engage their audience.

    Why Users Prefer Premium News Sources?

    When you search for news, the first question you ask is: may I trust this source?. Once you are reading, the content’s quality engages you or drives you away from the site. The key factors making a reader choose a news source are:

    Reliable sources – Readers prefer news from premium and reputable sources. Despite the appearance of an array of digital news sources, traditional newspapers (albeit online) are the most trusted news sources. An excellent reputation attracts the reader to the site.

    Quality content – This is the key to user engagement. A reader may find a site only to leave it a few seconds later because of the poor quality of the content. Users look for quality content on topics they care about, even if they have to pay for it. In the age of free content, readers will pay to subscribe to top publications, such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

    Top Benefits of Having Premium News Sources in your Website or Extension

    Content is King. We have seen this phrase over and over. Low-quality content makes visitors flee, page ranking sink, and ultimately hurt your business. Here are some benefits of adding premium news content on your website:

    Rank Higher on Search Engines

    Two of the factors Google uses to rank websites in its SERPs are relevance and quality. The algorithm identifies how well the page answers the query; this makes the page more or less relevant for Google. It then uses quality to arrange the best results at the top.

    What is quality for Search Engines?

    Quality evaluators rate organic results according to set standards and guidelines. The features that make a site rise or sink differ according to the website. Legal, financial, e-commerce, and health sites have the strictest standards. That means that if your website sells online, you are judged more strictly on the quality of your content.

    Factors such as expertise, authoritativeness, and trustworthiness of the website also determine the site’s quality. If you have quality content from reputable sources, such as top news publications, your page ranking will rise.

    Improve Your User Experience

    Your visitors want to find the answer to their search on your site as quickly as possible. For that, your content needs to apply to what the visitors are looking for. Fresh and original content will help visitors in their customer journey, providing excellent user experience. And happy visitors turn into happy customers.

    Increasing Dwell Time

    Dwell time measures how long a visitor spends on a website before returning to the Search Results Page (SERP). The length of the time spent on the page can show if the visitor consumed the content on it. Search engines reward sites that show longer dwell times with higher ranks in the SERPs, since it shows the content is relevant to the users.

    Engage Visitors by Adding NewsFuel to Your Website

    At CodeFuel, we offer publishers and extension developers all the benefits of adding a premium service to their site/pages, without the associated high cost and the hassle. How are we able to do so? Our NewsFuel service is based on our partnership with MSN, offering news from global renown premium brands from over 140 countries. Curated content is available in various topics, and readers can filter the news feed by favorite topics. The best part is that you can monetize the service and that you don’t need to build the service from scratch, saving you both the technical resources otherwise required and the content rights negotiations involved.   

    Start today! Give your visitors an excuse to spend time on your website by giving them fresh premium news on the topics they care for. Got questions about our NewsFuel service? Drop us a line.